Back in the UK for Christmas


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater Manchester » Manchester
January 8th 2014
Published: January 8th 2014
Edit Blog Post

After 18 months in the Philippines I was dying to get back to the UK to see family and friends for Christmas. I even missed the cold weather somewhat, although I am ready to escape the cold and rain again now after just 3 weeks here.

Manchester was great leading up to Christmas with the special markets and other sights we showed my Filipina girlfriend. She was actually complaining it wasn't cold enough which I found amusing. We also checked out Chester via train, which was a pleasant day and a good way to see the countryside. Also we visited Castleton, see picture, which was very nice for a walk and pub lunch.

Then we stayed in a lovely cottage in Northumberland to experience more of the countryside. I'd never really given Northumberland much thought before, but I have to say it is a beautiful part of the world. We made a good accommodation choice too which helped, especially when it rained.

Whilst back in Manchester an old friend took me to the indoor ski slope. I've never tried skiing before and he's always invited me to his ski holidays. It seems like he is not taking my "I can't ski" excuses any longer. He also got me this training aid for Christmas to make sure I continue learning.

I have to say it was very enjoyable on the indoor slope at the Chill Factore (near the Trafford Centre). The complex is amazing and I'm I will be using his gift to try and improve more. I won't be joining his party on their ski trip this year as Thailand beckons.

Next up for us is a short trip back to the Philippines to move out of our place. Then we head to Thailand for the short term future. Might be a couple of months, might be years. We'll just have to wait and see. We will be back in the UK at some point in 2015, perhaps even we'll even fit in a skiing trip too.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 52; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb