Newly Arrived in Manchester


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater Manchester » Manchester
September 23rd 2007
Published: September 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

New Hall of ResidenceNew Hall of ResidenceNew Hall of Residence

This is the building that I live in.
Hello Friends and Family!
I am finally settling into my new life in Manchester, UK. Of course, it is very different here - but I am definitely enjoying it! Although I do miss home quite a bit! I am living in a brand new hall of residence on the University of Manchester campus. I will post pictures of it on this blog so that you can see where I am living. Classes start on Monday, and I am looking forward to digging in! This last week and a half has been filled with orientation, registration, getting a bank account, trying to figure out cell phones here, and looking for cheap groceries! There are lots of fresh fruit and vegetable stands around my apartment so that is nice. I have also been enjoying English crumpets - which we call "English Muffins". Crumpets are way better - and super cheap here! Luckily, I have been blessed with 4 roomates that are very nice. Priyankah, Trinette, and Sari are from India, and Fiona is from China. We all go grocery shopping together, and my Indian roomates are constantly trying to get me to try their food! I have also met about 10 other Americans,
My roomMy roomMy room

This is my room. Yes, its already messy.
3 of which are in my program. So far everyone has been really nice, and my only complaint is that the dollar is still so weak against the pound! When I am looking for groceries and something costs a pound - I think "That's pretty cheap", until I remember that a pound is about 2 American dollars! So everything is actually double what the listed price is! Thus, I am searching for a job. I have not had any luck yet, but I am filling out lots of applications, so keep your fingers crossed! Please check this blog regularly for updated stories and pictures! I will post pictures of my travels on here so that I do not overload your email boxes with them! I love and miss you all!
Cheers,
Angela


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

The HallwayThe Hallway
The Hallway

This is the hallway that I walk into to get to my room.
The Kitchen The Kitchen
The Kitchen

Our kitchen.
More KitchenMore Kitchen
More Kitchen

Dining area in the kitchen.
View from my windowView from my window
View from my window

This is the view from my window - cloudy version.
View from my windowView from my window
View from my window

Construction version. The University is doing a ton of expansion. Unfortunately, we are right in the middle of it.
This is where I go to schoolThis is where I go to school
This is where I go to school

This is the Arthut Lewis building. This is where my department is located, so I will be spending a lot of time here.
The University of ManchesterThe University of Manchester
The University of Manchester

This is the entrance to the old quad.
The BusesThe Buses
The Buses

Ok, the buses here are huge, and there is about an inch between the sidewalk and the road, so its really fun when they drive right past you at about 80 mph. People also drive up onto the sidewalk quite often.
St. Mary'sSt. Mary's
St. Mary's

This is a beautiful Cathedral located near my apartment.


Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb