In Manchester..


Advertisement
Published: May 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Soooo, here is my travel blog. I decided to write this because I am quite lazy and can't be bothered sending loads of people individual emails. Thus, this blog was born.

Right now I am sitting in the front room of my uncle's house in Manchester, it is 9:35pm but still light outside. It also gets light at around 5am every morning. Bloody weird. I guess I should start right at the beginning, 6 days ago.

Originally my flight was to leave at 4:20 that afternoon, but there was some sort of problem with the plane and we didn't find out 'til we got to the airport that my flight was delayed for 5 hours. And yes I got a nice bollocking from my mum who said THAT is why I should always call to confirm my flight. Thanks mother!

I did eventually get on the plane at 9:30 that night, but the delay meant that I would miss my connecting flight in Bangkok that was meant to leave 2 hours after I arrived at the airport. Instead Thai Airways gave everyone on the plane a room in the airport hotel. It was nice and all, and the bed was as wide as it was tall, but I still only got 3 hours sleep cause we had to check out early the next morning. And instead of arriving in London at 7:30am I didn't get there until 6:30pm. Buuuut it wasn't that bad, 'cause the new airport in Bangkok looks like something out of Star Wars, that was awesome.

When I finally got to London I dragged my massive suitcase (it was over the weight limit but I think they felt bad cause my flight was delayed so they didn't say anything) onto the Tube, then onto a normal train, then onto a bus in order to get to my cousin Tig and her boyfriend Vinnie's house. I love all the houses in England. They're all so cute, even if they do all look the same.

On Wednesday, my one full day in London Tig and Vinnie both had to work so I bought a day travel card and just ambled around inner London for the day. I went to the Tate Modern, then pretty much just hopped on any public transport I saw and got off at places I thought looked remotely interesting. Now that I think about it, I really didn't do anything that day except wander around. At night we went out to a couple of bars, drinking over here is much cheaper I reckon. Actually the only thing I have found to be more expensive than Sydney is public transport, everything else is almost the same, possibly even cheaper.

Despite being told by some guy in London that I shouldn't go to Manchester because it was 'full of dirty Northerners' on Thursday I caught a train up. I was too tired to do anything that night so I had some good old English fish n chips and watched tv. Next day we went in to town and Denise showed me around the main part of Manchester, including the Curry Mile!! Basically it is a long street pretty much filled with cheap curry restaurants. I am not gonna go down the curry mile by myself, so Alex when you get over here prepare yourself.

Last night we went down the pub at about 10:30 seeing as it only just gets dark before then. It was bloody freezing yet there's still these freaky underage kids all hanging out on the street with t shirts on. There were also a couple of shady looking kids with their hoods on. The neighbourhood I'm staying in is really nice though. We live across from a little football ground, home of the almighty Altrincham FC who were recently relegated from the Conference to Conference North.

There's quite a few people who live in this suburb, or the surrounding suburbs. Harry Kewell, Wayne Rooney, Cristiano Ronaldo (need to find me some sort of weapon), and I think Morrissey's old house is somewhere nearby. We're going to look at it tomorrow!

Today we did nothing except go to the pub and watch the FA Cup final. We live in the borough of Trafford, so as you can guess the pub was filled with Man UTD supporters. A couple of Chelsea fans braved the pub though. As you can imagine the Man UTD fans weren't very happy by the end of the game.

Well, I think I've rabbited on enough for one entry. Until next time!

p.s Don't be surprised if I return with a Manc accent, I seriously wanna try and pick it up, they are the best accents ever.

Advertisement



21st May 2007

your sister
hello woocy was those hooded kids like the ones in 'hot fuzz'? dont forget to take lots of photos bye
25th May 2007

I hope you do come back with an accent, that would be the best thing ever!

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0376s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb