Wimbledon


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Wimbledon
July 12th 2006
Published: July 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Wimbledon


WimbledonWimbledonWimbledon

From ''Henman Hill''. Court 18 to the right.
Again work and cricket have been taking up most of my time here so far. So that bit isn't all that interesting, but I haven't minded work of late as I have been kept quite busy and makes the days go faster. Usually topped off with a visit to the pub on the way home.

Cricket wise I managed to make 107 not out in one game and we won with 2 wickets down. That was quite satisfying, in warm conditions (hot for all the English who constantly moaning about the heat). I have managed to make a couple of scores in the 30's since then, but nothing more substantial than the 100. Bowling hasn't been as good since the start, but probably due to bowling less than I usually do and therefore struggling for some rhythm. I was batting really well last week and was 36 in no time, but then got caught on the boundary, that was really disappointing, as I was hitting the ball in the middle of the bat.

We had an interesting friendly match against a team of West Indians, living in London, a few weeks ago. It was a bit of a laugh
WimbledonWimbledonWimbledon

Looking over. Courtesy tennis.co.kr
and was funny to see that while we were fielding their batsmen were testing out the grass on the sidelines. Then came in and proceeded to smash us everywhere.

Was out in town one night and got chatting to some of my mates' friends. This one bloke straight away said I know who you are. A little shocked (as I had no idea who he was), I went along with it, trying to work out where he know me by. He said 'you sang Starship's, We Built This City on Rock and Roll' karoake. Yeah I have, but how and where does he know this?
He went onto say that there is a photo of me in some club (named Starship) in London, that has a photo board of people's performances of the song 'We Built This City' by the band Starship.

I asked how he could know it was me and he said I had the same shirt on and looked like the guy. Sure enough when I was in Florence last year, I sang 'We Built This City' karoake in that same shirt I was wearing. Apparantly I am ranked number 18. How my photo singing
Stawberries and CreamStawberries and CreamStawberries and Cream

Along with some Pimms and lemonade, a tradition at Wimbledon
this song got all the way to London and I am only ranked number 18 is a mystery to me!!!

I ventured down to London on a Monday, went through the National Gallery, looking at some works from Picasso, Monet etc. Van Gogh's 'Sunflowers' is there and many I know from studying Art History, but at the time thought why are we studying all this?? Now wish I had studied it more. I caught up with some school friends after this, Amanda and Katie. It was the day before they headed off on Contiki, so again this lightened my mood and we had a good lunch, chatting about travel etc. Pretty cool seeing them there and they sound like they are having a great time so far.

After this I made my way out to Greenwich, to see the World Heritage listed town, based around Maritime and obviously where the Greenwich Mean Time point is. After walking around the site and the old buildings and gardens there. I made my way up to the lookout to the observatory to find where all time relates to and West and North etc. Ironically I got there at 4:38 pm and
FedererFedererFederer

Great to see Federer play Centre Court at Wimbledon. Anhilated his opponent.
according to the sign it shut at 4:30 pm. So unfortunately I couldn't get in to take my photo on the Median line or look at the observatory. I was pretty confident that such a place wouldn't mix up the times so I just continued to wander around the gardens before returning into London and having some dinner, before catching the views of the major sights, as dusk drew upon the Thames.

The following week I again ventured into London on a Monday. This time it would be to watch the infamous Socceroos vs Italy match, again at the Walkabout at Temple. Here I met up with Brett and Heather and we watched the game with the place jam packed. Obviously everyone knows what happens, needless to say it was quite heart-breaking once the penalty was given. My head was in my hands for 5-10 minutes before the music started up again and people began to party for how well we had played throughout the tournament. I will always love John Farham's ''You're the Voice''!

After this we headed down to the Fulham area for dinner with some of Brett and Heather's friends who are living there. As
AgassiAgassiAgassi

One of Agassi's last ever games.
its not far away from Wimbledon, after dinner I decided to go check out the line for the next day's play. Getting off at Southfields station and walking towards Wimbledon I noticed a pretty long line, so after asking if I lined up in the last available position whether I would be guranteed Centre Court tickets, the usher said yes, so out came the sleeping bag and I crashed out on the firm ground under the stars for the night. Unfortunately some drunk and obnoxious Aussies were nearby and kept many people awake with their inane conversations back home (so the next day in line I was giving them nothing).

After getting up at about 6:00 we then worked away around SW19 in the line to get our tickets. Got talking to the young guys behind me in the line and apparantly one of them is a well known singer up north who has performed with Delta Goodrem (they had photos to prove it). They were good enough kids and helped to pass the time away while waiting in line. At about 10:00 we finally got in (I saw Newk walk by straight away).

Waited around for a
Australian supportAustralian supportAustralian support

Court 17, looking towards centre court.
while, before a television crew came up behind me filming me wearing my Aussie flag. They asked me a few questions and I answered with passion. I saw they were from ESPN, so that was pretty cool. Then as they let the crowd through to the courts, I and many Australians headed straight to court 17 where Wayne Arthurs would be playing soon. Met Brett and Heather there as they hadn't been as tough to camp it out overnight, so only ground passes for them. Some tom foolery from the crowd with beach balls bouncing around the court while we waited, ah what has the All England Club come to? After play started a few text messages came flooding into us all around. Apparantly the Arthurs game was on Foxtel and we were on television back home constantly! It seemed Brett's pink shirt was standing out to his family back home! As Arthurs was getting treatment, apparantly they panned around the court and focused in on myself in all my Aussie get up. According to sources back home, the commentators took the p out of me and said something about me texting home to say Arthurs was injured ... it
Lining upLining upLining up

Lining up for Wimbledon tickets
wasn't far from the truth. It was cool to hear from those who texted me during this ... mum said she was in tears watching me there live. Bless! After realising we were on tele, I tried posing a bit, not sure if it worked.

Walked around the Wimbledon precinct intermittently. It is a great layout and is so green. I thought it was sensational. Court 18 is a pretty cool one, that allows you to watch play there and then as the grandstand is so steep , you can see into other courts. I went into Centre Court and was ushered to my seat by navy members, right behind the royal box and watched Roger Federer demolish his opponent, Gasquet. Fantastic to see Federer play centre court at Wimbledon. Then Agassi playing in his last Wimbledon was there, he had so much support from the crowd, they were really behind him. Which was so noticeable when Andy Murray (Scottish next Tim Henman) came on after Agassi had blown kisses to the crowd and the jam packed centre court, went to being 60% full for the Andy Murray match.

So of course at Wimbledon you have some strawberries and cream, pimms and lemonade. Although exhorbitantly priced, still have to do it! It was just good to wander around Wimbledon and soak it all in. Its a place I grew up watching all through my childhood and teens and always wanted to visit, especially when you sit back and saw other Australians in the crowd. As I wandered around I saw Alicia Molik playing, Pat Cash walk by (first interest in tennis came from him winning Wimbledon), lots of tennis players and a few Premiership soccer players gawking at the women tennis players. All in all a quality day, and I would camp out and do it all again one day if I can.

Next entry (few days time) is my week in Pamplona, for the Running of the Bulls!






Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Wayne ArthursWayne Arthurs
Wayne Arthurs

Sitting in my infamous seat
GreenwichGreenwich
Greenwich

Royal Observatory clock from which all time is dictated by.
Maritime MuseumMaritime Museum
Maritime Museum

Greenwich Maritime Buildings
GreenwichGreenwich
Greenwich

Looking down to the Queen's quarters
Schedule of PlaySchedule of Play
Schedule of Play

The day's play and results
Federer Federer
Federer

Preparing to serve


14th July 2006

Well Dan, seems like Wimbeldon was a lot more exciting than when we were there! Keep having a blast.... Sarah
17th July 2006

yo dan. how come i got 3 emails saying ur blog is updated?? peculiar.. welp, sounds like you're having fun again. sorry i didn't see u on the news for wimbledon. i BET u started posing. have fun and see ya around novemberish!
27th July 2006

Shinz is 2nd coolest
Hey thats exciting about your wimbledon. I showed the gals from class your blog but it was just me and the other girl who has been travelling that got excited. Poor others they need to get out there aye. I went to the time line, when it WAS open, I could send you my pic standing astride the line with the NZ location :) Keep on having fun and I luv your pics on here. I also got the 3 emails to say you'd updated too. Is it for molly and I as your biggest fans ;)

Tot: 0.274s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 16; qc: 93; dbt: 0.1138s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb