Night Time Showers; All the Rage!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Whitehall
February 18th 2009
Published: February 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Why? Because that means an extra half an hour of sleep come morning.

Today is Wednesday, no classes for Sarah. However, I had to get up early this morning anyways and go to the Abbey for English class. We are currently talking about sarcasm and irony, so we have to write a paper, suggesting Westminster be turned into something else. I was tossing about the idea of turning it into a Sainsbury's (grocery store). But I think I am going to go with five star resort. The best suite being with Elizabeth I of course.

I have been to the Abbey several times, but I never get bored with it. Thinking about how close you are to all those famous people from hundreds and hundreds of years ago is insane. I stood on Charles Darwin, and then lent against one of Mary Boleyn's children. What did you do today?

Technically, I didn't really have to go. Dr. Parkes would have never known. I've been there before, I could have written the paper. But I wanted to go for the tour so I can brush up on my facts, and then impress my mum with all my knowledge!

We got out of there about 2 hours later, and starving. We went to a little cafe in the crypt of the Methodist centre accross the street. We also got some tea and killed the time we had before a lecture we were attending at the Cabinet War Rooms. (I'll explain in a bit) One of my neighbours, Anne, has her parents visiting. They are some of the nicest people I have ever met, but maybe a little dangerous for me to be around. They thought I was very funny, and encouraged me until I was almost beyond restraint. But this gives me hope, I love entertaining people, and I definately know that it is going to have something to do with what I end up doing.

I led them from there to the War Rooms, which is near St. James' Park. On the way, I pretended to be one of the London Blue Badge Guides, and gave them a false history about things we passed. Including a great description of our snow pelicans, which I thought was stupid, but they found hilarious, much to my pleasant surprise.

So, the Cabinet War Rooms. They are basically a basement under one of the government buildings in whitehall, from where the British part in the war was ran. It was kept secret that that is where Winston Churchill and his entire staff and cabinet worked during the entire duration of the WWII. After the war it was just abandonned exactly as it was, since then they have opened it as a museum. We attened a lecture there, about the kind of things they did there, and how it was amazing that the Germans and other forces had bases that were built specifically to be bomb proof shelters, but they just worked out of a basement. The most amazing part was all the maps over the walls. There were millions of pins, and strings all over them, each colour meaning something different. There was even a little characiture of Hitler drowning in the Atlantic ocean.

And now we are back, with a quick trip to the store for some toilet paper, no more sneaking into other flats to use the toilet! Now we are settling down for lots of paper writing. Right now I am working on telling the legend of Achilles using Greek pots in the British Museum... well back to work.

observation: Winston Churchill mugs are the coolest. I want to have my morning tea with Winnie.

"Of course Churchill won the war... Win is in his name!"

Currently Listening to: The Sun Doesn't Like You, by Norah Jones

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0539s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb