Be the change you want to see in the world - M. Gandhi


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Westminster
June 11th 2010
Published: June 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Some people are just like that..
I always admired people who are able to maintain a subtle, quiet strength and confidence about them, even if the status quo is to toot your own horn because you can. Not the ‘he who shouts the loudest’ wins-type. This is how I hope to be some day.

I’ve recently worked with the FS practice and my boss was a small man; maybe 5 foot 5 and slim. It’s likely that I weighed more, if not the same. Anyway, he’s always well-dressed and very articulate. Above the average. It’s mandatory to be polished and articulate in this business, so that says a lot.

His education came as no surprise to me. I was more surprised at how down to earth he was, how very disarming and funny and almost endearing he was. Usually people in this industry like to toot their own horns, and they like to show everyone just how far of a reach or how high of a jump they have.

Bored one day, I decided to do a google search. An article from the NY Times came up, announcing his wedding to his wife. They both had sr exec roles at a top north american financial institution. My jaw-dropped. For the NY times to publish your life in a section outside of the purchased classifieds is a big deal. This firmly cemented his status to me.

Still, it is the humility, the grounded-ness that he holds that amazes me. It’s never the letters after the name that impresses me. It’s moreso that he doesn’t see those letters as a right to have a holier than thou attitude, especially in a generation where most people do, and everyone is fighting tooth and nail for each letter.

Today I ran into him while getting my lunch, we talked and he asked me, “what are you going to do after your stint with us is over?”. I told him about my desire to go back to school, and he asked me why I don’t stay in ‘search’, that I was good at it and was always calm and collected. I replied with a “well it depends on who the partner is, so that calmness is a reflection of you”.

There should be more people like this guy in the world.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.228s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 64; dbt: 0.1029s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb