WILDSIDE


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Westminster
December 18th 2008
Published: December 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I am an African and Africa is my home turf but mostly Africa fascinates me. My fiancee and I will be getting married in March. For our honeymoon, we have finally decided to travel through Africa in a Land Rover. This is as you know (some of you) that this is a dream of ours to travel and see animals and interact with people. One of my few memories when I was young was reading the Farside Gallery and all the funny books by Rose Rigdens. I would read them over and over as I enjoyed the humour portrayed. So the name of our Landrover is dedicated to Rose and is called Wildside. We will keep you updated on our travels and where we are.

This is not just a trip but also a great long honeymoon as well. We want to learn a lot about Africa and its people. We will start our trip on the 1st of February 2009. Only one full month left as we don't count the Christmas holiday.

African woman fascinates me even more as they represent my mother, my sister, my friend and my family. I want to learn about what makes them tick and what keeps them strong. Woman in Africa are strong. They give birth in the most crazy environment, they feed their children and husbands. They are farmers, they are headers, they are food gathers, there are caretakers and most of all they are amazing cooks. They can always cook anything from nothing. They are kind and giving and will always share the little they have. That's why I want to go to Africa, that's why I want to learn from African woman, from African daughters on how they survive.

We also want to learn how Africans are connected to each other. From Morocco to South Africa, from Swaziland to Egypt. Is there a connection that no-one is aware of. The rooted connection that lies deep in the mother tongue or is it somewhere in the way we do things. Is it in the way we cook the food or the way we eat it. How we build our huts and thatch them or how we celebrate. Is it the way we graze our cattle or the way we milk them. Its all there and we want to find it. So wish us luck and pray for us.

Advertisement



7th January 2009

GO FRIEND
I've known you like that my friend, someone who is inquisitive and always yeaning for more knowledge. You are pregnant with ideas and more than anything you have a hungry brain. Feed your brain with more African beauty and distribute the wisdom to the world. I wish all the best, May the Mighty LORD protect you and wrap you with HIS wonderful Spirit as you explore Africa. I've seen you facing up and rising to every challenge that comes your way and without a doubt i know that this will be one of the wonderful experiences than a challenge. GO FRIEND GO....WE ARE PROUD OF YOU IN SOUTH AFRICA!!! ALL THE BEST!
9th January 2009

Awesome!
Awesome Tina! can't wait to check out the blog and well, hang out, before you leave!
15th January 2009

Thank you Will. I think Arjun and Sharon are arranging the last day drinks. I will keep you updated as always.
15th January 2009

Oh my friend. Nice words and honestly I cant wait. I will keep you updated as long as you promise to keep me updated with the baby.

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0561s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb