Thunder bolts and lightning


Advertisement
Published: June 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Predictably I packed, unpacked, re-packed, unpacked and repacked my luggage. The problem is not the generous 30kg’s that the airline allows but that I am gone for 2 months and I just know that I will buy things on my trip and not be able to get it home. It is rather tricky packing limited clothing for 2 months although I know that I will probably wear the same clothes over and over again.
Spent my last night in South Africa at my friends house in Johannesburg, who is like a sergeant major when it comes to packing, and in no time at all she rearranged my luggage and told me what I would and would not wear. Problem solved. Funny that. Because Janis travelled for the first time 3 months ago.
My flight was a little after lunch. I am worried. I woke up because thunder woke me up. Thunder is not a pet. Thunder is that noise that comes from a storm. Really? A storm in JUNE? In South Africa? It looks like Armageddon outside and I am stressing that the flight will be cancelled or, worse, one very bumpy ride. It also means that I hadto leave for the airport a lot earlier than arranged, as by some universal law, people forget how to drive when it rains.
Managed to check in both my main luggage and hand luggage together, as they collectively weighed 30kg’s – it was great not to have to sit at a connecting flight in Dubai, luggage hand luggage along. The trip to Dubai was fantastic, with a lot of conversation with the guy next to me (well we shared 3 shared between the two if us) about travelling alone and adventurous stuff. He encouraged me to do coach surfing, although I have my reservations. Mainly about ending up in an unwanted situation.
In Dubai, at the Irish Pub, I met two lonesome traveller’s and we had such a great time talking and laughing (and drinking) that I nearly missed my flight. Running along the HUGE terminal to find my boarding gate like a chicken who had lost its head was definatley my idea of adrenaline. Safely made it on to the plane and 7 hours later it was Touchdown.
Welcome to London!!!!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb