My First Football Match


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Southwark
March 10th 2011
Published: March 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Bubbles 27 secs
2/27/11- Today I was to excited to sleep, knowing I was attending my first football match in Europe. However after waking up at 630 and not being able to get back to sleep till 730 I woke up at 10. I showered and went in to the kitchen for breakfast. I made 2 eggs, 2 hash browns, 4 strips of bacon, a piece of toast, and baked beans. (customary for English breakfasts) It was a great breakfast, but I was off to the stadium. I rode the tube there taking the jubilee line but had to switch to hit upton park. As soon as I switched trains I noticed a different atmosphere. Everyone was wearing West Ham United colors and seemed excited about the upcoming event. I marched to the stadium side by side with the craziest fans that England has to offer. Passing by Jersey Vendors and Burgers stands while listening to chants of the West Ham United fans was truly a scene from the popular soccer movie Green Street Hooligans.

Prior to the game I had to get a piece of West Ham apparel so I purchased a Scarf. After that I headed to my seat, I walked into the stadium quite early to see people coming in and to take in everything in the stadium. As I sat there watching the hooligans arrive I noticed that I was surrounded by the Die-hard fans. Some would say I was surrounded by the West Ham United firm. It was quite the experience. I got shivers as Liverpool tried to say a chant before the whistle and the roar of the West Ham fans that answered back with Im forever blowing Bubbles. I will attach a video so you can see for your self. It was funny to see a bubble machine creating bubbles.

As the game started all the fans were very into the game and critiquing every pass and decision. I was impressed with the soccer knowledge around me. At one lull in the game, the hooligan sitting next to me asked me how I got these seats. He went on to tell me how all these seats are for Season ticket holders so there extremely tough to get. I said hello, and that I bought them online. He was floored by my accent and just starred at me and said “you’re a Yank.” At
InjuryInjuryInjury

An injury right infront of me. with Kuyt checking in on his buddy
this point I was quite nervous however he tested my soccer knowledge and I impressed with my knowledge of West Ham players and my hatred for Liverpool. I used the word I can’t wait to see West Ham best the S*** out of Liverpool and he got a huge smile on his face and accepted me into the group. Even proclaiming to the whole section that I was okay even if I was a yank.

All the fans sitting around me were dissecting each play and at one point I was doing the same calling for a player to swing it through the defense to switch the field and they all loved it and trusted my soccer knowledge. In the 17th minute Wes Ham scored a great goal that got the crowd going. The crowd celebrating was similar to when an NFL team scoring a touchdown in a play-off game. Everyone was hugging and chanting and jumping around. They picked up another goal right before half that only excited the crowd even more. At half time I continued my dialogue with my newly found friends. I told them I played football in the states at Uni. And told them
Final ScoreFinal ScoreFinal Score

WEST HAM VICTORY
all about the GU team and the asked why aren’t all Americans like me. I just laughed and before I knew it the teams came back out for the 2nd half. Liverpool got a cool in the middle of the half, which pissed of the fans around me. They truly blame their goalie for everything, it is Robert Green so I understand where they are coming from. (Robert Green was the keeper who let in a goal during the World cup against the USA that should have been an easy save) West Ham seemed to struggle for a few minutes and seemed fatigued. The made 2 subs including bringing in an American, Jonathan Spector, which the fans thought was great since I am a yank. They also subbed in a forward named Cole he got in and within 3 minutes stole a ball form the Liverpool defender and then with a step-over that fooled Carragher and finessed the shot into the bottom corner to put West Ham up 3-1 with only minutes left in the game. The celebration for this goal was something I have never experienced people were celebrating so hard that several people fell down a few rows. Everyone was calling their families and celebrating the unexpected win with everyone they could. After the final whistle I collected a few pictures with the field in the background and then headed out of the stadium with all the other fans.

I made my way to the tube station however the queue was a 2 hour wait. I asked a police officer what the best thing to do was and he told me to take a 10 minutes walk to a different tube stop. I did and this saved me a huge hassle and saved me a lot of time. I made my way home, riding a high that I have only experienced a few times in my life. As soon as I got home I had to tell all my flat-mates about the game. I then skyped with Hunter and my father, before heading to Will’s flat to play FIFA. Of course, we had to play West Ham vs. Liverpool. He was Liverpool and beat me 3-1 in almost the same way the real game went however the real game went in favor of West Ham. This was my best day in London so far. I hope that at some point in my life I can buy Season tickets for a team and attend every game. This will not be the last game I attend.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.038s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb