Farewell London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Pimlico
October 29th 2007
Published: October 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, this is it. As I said in my goodbye email, 5 and a half years of living in this country, on the other side of the world.

Its been amazing, the people, the places and the many experiences we have had are going to form some of the most significant memories of our lives.

I just did my last walk, through the park home - through St James Park, which is my favourite London park. I could have caught the tube but I am so glad I decided to walk, because that is the coolest "last" London memory I will have. The park was just full enough with people to give it a buzz, but not full like in summer, when you are scrounging to find spare green space. The air was crisp, just fresh, not too cold, and the leaves are all turning. There were squirrels, birds and ducks by the dozen, all causing mayhem, and all posing for the tourist cameras!

There is a bridge that goes through the middle of the park that when you cross, if you look to one side, you can see the London Eye, and if you look to the other, you can see Buckingham Palace, I used to do this walk regularly to work and the view either side never ceased to amaze me and also served as a good reminder if needed, that hey, yes, you're in London, baby!!

And there seemed to be a sort of mist in the air (or maybe it was my eyes going all misty!) but the park seemed mystical and enchanting with the promise of well, colder, things to come, I guess. I never really felt like NZ has autumn as such, but here in the UK, its a definite season, and apart from summer, I think its my favourite season. And today, in the park, it was definitely Autumn in London.


Sad to be leaving, but pretty excited about things to come.....

Next stop, Scandinavia - Bergen and the fjords, to be precise!!


Advertisement



29th October 2007

Home coming!
Yaye.... you're starting your journey home... but sounds like you have a lovely lasting memory of London! :) Take care in your travels Gudge xoxo

Tot: 0.263s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb