London - Part Deux


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Maida Vale
March 25th 2010
Published: March 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

London Part Deux

OK, so last Thursday I moved to Jenna and John’s place to stay for a few days. Had a great time. Thursday I went to the British Museum and cruised down Oxford Street to do some window shopping. On Friday, I went to the Tower of London, the Tower Bridge and Design Museum. All three very cool. On Saturday, Jenna and I went to the Tate Modern art gallery and spend some time eating our way through yummy samples at the Borough Market. On Saturday night, Jenna, John and myself went out for dim sum at a restaurant in Notting Hill with the best name, Ping Pong (love, love, love it), which had great food and yummy cocktails, then we proceeded to a pub and met up with Ed. After that we went to a club called cherry jam (yes, I said cherry jam)…..the fact that Jenna previously thought it was a strip club tells you a lot about it’s appearance from the outside, but it was actually nice inside (and not a strip club!). Needless to say, there is only one photo from the evening suitable for posting of the four of us.

Then on Sunday I did two of the most London/British things you can do……first I went to Abby Road and took photos, although there was a lot of traffic and we ended up taking the photo the wrong way….oh well, at least there is some documentation that I walked where the Beatles did! And then I went to a live football match at Craven Cottage, home of the Fulham Football Club. I went with Ed, and we had front row seats! A little history on FFC - the stadium where they play is right on the water and Craven Cottage (which is just a part of the stadium) was built in the 1800s. The team is currently owned by the owner of Harrod’s, Mr. Al-Fayed, whose son, Dodi Al-Fayed, was killed in the car crash with Princess Diana. And Hugh Grant is known FFC fan and was actually at the game they played previous to the one we went to. It was AWESOME. They were planning Manchester City and they lost 2-1, but it was still fun. Lots of cheering that I couldn’t understand, and our seats were so close that I got a great view of players hot bodi…uh, I mean, their amazing football skills. Great experience for sure.

Have a couple more things to do in London still, plus some day trips which I will do when I’m back from Paris!



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0727s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb