A Reflection Back on London: My Time, My Experience, My Journey (the final chapter)


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Maida Vale
April 29th 2009
Published: April 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

For the last time: HALLO!!!!

I would first like to thank each and every one of you who subscribed, read, and shared my blog entries. The support I got (and page hits) kept me encouraged and energetic to write these entries. Through this, I have been able to keep a log of my amazing and incredible semester, something I will be able to print out and keep with me forever.

I cannot hide my shock, yet pleasure, in realizing that my blog has been viewed over 3,600 times...and counting. (Not to lie, each time I broke the next "thousand" mark, ie. 1,000 hits, 2,000, and 3,000, I took a shot in celebration, so thank you for that as well!).

Looking back to my first entry, I remember sitting in the computer lab at school, two days after I arrived, typing away at what would become a huge part of the semester.

From first laying my eyes on Big Ben, to moving into my flat (then known as the Darren Goldberg Palace), to Stonehenge, announcing the booking of my Spring Break trip to Barcelona, and my Indiana Jones Adventure on the tube, January proved to be quite the eventful month. As fast as this semester went, when I think back to those events, it seems like ages ago.

February brought the worst snow in London for over 18 years, enjoying Mr. Bean on the London West End stage, face-planting the cement in Edinburgh, Scotland, where my good friend Tara and I also embarrassed ourselves at the Whiskey Distillery, and of course....Amsterdam. Oh Amsterdam, how my parents would have killed me if they saw the hostel we were staying in.

March started off with my mystery trip to Berlin, Spring Break to Barcelona!!! (an INCREDIBLE week), where Tara and I took on the fake identities of Bradley from San Francisco, and Madison from Dallas, where I encountered a man attempting to pickpocket a woman, and being interviewed for the news while tanning on the beach. The month of March also brought about my 21st Birthday!, which my best friend Michael got to spend with me during his week visit from good 'ole NJ to London.

The month concluded where I got to see David Beckham play football, protesters hit the streets during the G20 Summit, and a huge highlight, seeing President Obama and the First Lady.

April started out on a hilarious note, when Tara and I pranked the entire flat by hiding everything in the kitchen overnight, and a trip to the Prime Meridian. My parents then flew out to London where we went to Paris for the weekend!!! and had an incredible time in London. And of course, one of the most recent occurrences, the crazy bike ride throughout London.

As I prepare to leave on Friday May 1st, I have truly experienced and got as much as I could out of this great city as I could have possibly ever imagined. Although this does not seem to be a reality in the foreseeable future, I could see myself living in London. It is a place I will truly miss, and cannot wait to return. (Of course a trip up the Bakerloo line to Maida Vale will be at the top of the list).

I would like to thank my flatmates, for making this one crazy, hilarious, drama-free (yea right), and incredible experience. Tara, Deborah, Joe, Kait, Lindsey, Pammy, and Victoria, living on Elgin Ave (the 3rd most desirable street to live on in ALL of London) has provided me with hours and hours of memories, most of which I can just laugh at for days on end.

To everyone in the SU London Program, students and staff (specifically those who I know), thank you for adding to the memories and stories that I will share for months and years to come.

Thank you to my parents, brother, and August, for lending me to the UK for a few months.

Once again, thank you to all of you for keeping in touch and reading my crazy, ridiculous, and embarrassing adventures.

Trivia Answer: Major ones include the Labour Party, Conservative Party (Tory Party), and the Liberal Democrats .

It has a been a pleasure! Good Bye London!

(Enjoy my recap of photos! Check out both pages)

Londoner (until Friday),
Sir Darren Nigel Goldberg III of Maida Vale


Additional photos below
Photos: 42, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



30th April 2009

First of all, let me wipe away the tears...lol, but seriously. Loved the entry and I love the last pic!!!
30th April 2009

I loved your last blog - but it was so sad. : ( I am glad you had this wonderful opportunity. I know your memories will be with you always. I am so happy we were able to share a little bit of it with you. I can't wait for you to come home! Love from NJ, Lady Addie Jane (aka Mom)

Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0651s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb