WOW: Indescribable! (leaving on a jet plane)


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Maida Vale
February 19th 2009
Published: February 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

La Clique StageLa Clique StageLa Clique Stage

(before the back curtain opened up, where more seats and another bar were hiding)
Hallo,

I just got back from an AMAZING, RIDICULOUS, INCREDIBLE show called La Clique. Description to follow. First....

So tomorrow morning at 5:15am, a taxi will arrive in front of our flat, and we will be getting in (if all goes well). And then off to Heathrow where we will be flying off to Amsterdam for the weekend. We have a jam-packed itinerary of things we want to see, but if I tell you know, what will I have to share upon my return. Which, by the way, is Monday morning. So get out your tissues...because this will be my last entry until Monday.

Yesterday, my day off from school, I went to visit the Tate Modern. It is a modern art museum here, and very interesting. You are not allowed to take pictures there, and they meant business. So I was unfortunately not able to take any for you. They had some very cool exhibits, and modern art is much more appealing to me than ancient historical crap (yea I said it). Then I went to get my first British hair cut....it was ok. Unlike the guy I go to at home, this one was not a Green Bay Packer fan, so the conversations were not nearly as interesting. After that, I came home because I had to go see a comedy show for my British Comedy course. The show was called "Count Arthur Strong: The Man Behind the Slime". His whole thing is twisting words around and misusing them. So it was supposed to say "Man behind the smile." It was pretty funny, but there were a lot of cultural references I didn't get (shocking....)

Oh, and the best part was what I made myself for dinner. I made....French Onion Soup, and Green Bean Casserole. How do the two go together you ask?....I have no idea, but it was good!

Then today I had class, but SU got us subsidized tickets to see a show called "La Clique" (as mentioned subtly above). As their slogan says: "impossible to explain, just go" is the best way to explain it. It was kind of like Cirque De Soliel, but not. The cast was hysterical, talented, and completely shocking. It was grotesque at some points, fall of your chair laughing at some points, and pure shock at others. Definitely see it if you have the opportunity (do not bring youngens).

I can think of more to share, but I should get to bed. It will be an early start tomorrow.

(Trivia to follow on Monday)

Ciao Graci!

Londoner,
Sir Darren Nigel Goldberg III of Maida Vale

Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0257s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb