I'd buy you Rogaine when you start losing all your hair.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
June 27th 2012
Published: June 27th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Quirky, weird, and vocally talented. Three words I would use to describe the New York -based, indie-pop, singer-songwriter, Ingrid Michaelson.

Last night, my roommates and I traveled to Shepherd's Bush Market, conveniently located two tube stops away from my work, to view a private showing of Ingrid at Bush Hall.

The venue was very small, which was perfect for an intimate show. She sang all of her hits, including "Be Ok," "You and I," and "The Way I Am." She also added in a song that has not been released yet, titled "San Francisco," which happens to be one of my favorite cities in the world.

She was absolutely adorable, conversing with the crowd in between songs - just being very real with us. For a moment, I forgot that she was famous because she just seemed so down-to-earth. She told us a story of how she was walking down the streets of Manhattan when some lady purposefully knocked her tea out of her hands. In response to this experience, she questioned "Why can't everyone just be nice?" and wrote the song "Blood Brothers." After she finished with her story, I unconciously replied "Yeah!" ...she smiled at me
GigglesGigglesGiggles

The Duet singing 'You and I'
😊

When she played "You and I," she chose a guy from the audience to duet with her. Impressively, he knew all of the lyrics to his part and had a bit of a voice on him. She gave him a kiss on the cheek, afterwards.

If you enjoy fun, quirky songs that sometimes repeat themselves in beat and in lyric (she admitted this to us last night when she played a rendition of "Be Ok" only using the lyrics "I just want to be okay" to the rhythm of the song), do check out Ingrid's cds or live...

Two songs I would recommend:

"Palm of Your Hand"

"San Francisco"

Her next concert is in Dublin on the 29 of June!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.321s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1005s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb