Getting settled in london...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
April 13th 2005
Published: April 13th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Well everyone i made it to London...

Right now i'm sitting at the hostel internet cafe after taking a couple power naps since i only got to sleep a couple hours on the flight over since the seats were pretty uncomfortable. I got to Paris around 5:50am and had to transfer from terminal 2C to 2F. So I got packed onto the bus but when the door went to open at my stop is caught my foot in the door and the driver started yelling at me in French...so that was fun. The flight over to london was alright, quick, about an hour. Once i landed I went through customs and headed for the underground to get on the picadilly line.

I got to the ticket station at 9:10 which was still peak time which runs until 9:30, so to save £6 i waited for 20 mins at a little coffee shop. I listened to the radio for a bit and luckily it was no crappy pop or hip hop...just thumping techno. London was growing on me already.

So after an hour long train ride and meeting a really nice girl from South Africa named Liesl who was just getting to London today as well for business, however, she'll be here for about 4 years bus says she doesnt know if she'll be able to stay away from South Africa that long. She's been to NY and knew where Long Island was. So that was a good way to pass the time.

I arrived at the hostel at around 11am but unfortunately my room wouldnt be ready until 1pm so I had to kills some time so I put my backpack in storage and headed out into London. This place is in a awesome location. In less than 10 minutes I got to walk around Trafalgar Square and went into the National Art Gallery and saw paintings from as early as 1200. There were some beautiful paintings by Seraut (sp?), Boticelli, Van Gogh, Michalangelo. After about an hour I left that and ventured off again.

Once again in about 15 minutes I walked past the stunning Houses of Parliament, Westminster Abbey, and the Clock Tower (aka Big Ben). I walked a little farther to a small park along the Thames River and relaxed on a bench and read some of my guidebook to see what else was nearby. Wouldnt you know it, I was about 10 minutes from Buckingham palace and it was only slightly out of my way so I went off in that direction and picked up a sandwich at a shop on Victoria Blvd I believe. I started to eat sitting at a fountain directly in front of the Palace but swarms of those damn tourists took away from the mood so I went and ate at the St. James Park which has this huge pond in the middle, tons of ducks, swans, geese, and other weird looking birds. This park puts Central Park in NY to shame, and this is not even one of the nicer parks in London but just happened to be on the way back to Picadilly Circus. I stayed here for a bit and finished my sandwich. Then the obligatory Old Crazy Pigeon Man (Think Home Alone 2)walked by, you know the people who are at one with the Pigeons...

I got back to the hostel around 4:30pm and took a quick power nap til around 6 then decided to head down to the common room to meet a couple people. There werent too many people there and I was so exhausted I decided to just go back and rest for a little longer. So I slept until about 8:30pm and went out to get a bottle of water and walk around Picadilly at night. This is a very lively area and probably a good area to stay in since there will probably be people around at most hours so I dont have to walk around any desolate areas of London late at night.

So here I am back at the hostel where I just found out I had been sleeping in someone else's sheets. I was told i'm bed D which had linens but the other person must have wanted to be on the bottom bunk, apparently I was supposed to come back to get my linens after 1. My other roommates have been gone all day so I dont know what theyre like.

Anyways, i'm either gonna head out to a bar in a few or call it an early night so i can halfway function tomorrow. We'll see...

Advertisement



13th April 2005

It sounds like everything is going great so far and you'll really enjoy London. I actually hope this comment goes somehwere u can read it bc honestly i dont know if i did it right : /... Im jealous that i have to get up for school tomorrow and your in London. (Thanks a lot god lifes real fair ;) ... Well everyone at home has read what you did today wheather they respnided im not really sure. Keep us posted! Love yaa - Marissaaa
13th April 2005

first response..
Already getting yelled at by the French, and sleeping in other people's beds. Damn you Critelli. Glad to hear the flight and traveling went smoothly, i'm sure u're glad to have ur feet on the ground. Keep in touch with that Liesl chick and we'll go to South Africa -- it's one of my top 5 destination. As promised, here is what u have missed since departing 1) Don's brother will be joining the Outback family 2) The rumors are true, Britney Spear's finally admitted pregnancy, and coicidentally, is also considering Wallaby Dinkum as a potential name. 3) Nadia Turner was eliminated from American Idol. 4) Gwen Stefani's "Hollerback girl" is the number 1 download at Itunes. (i had to) Now, i'm sure all this information makes you desperately want to return, but I beg u to stick it out, and see what Europe may have to offer you. Way to go on saving the 6 pounds -- every bit helps. Good to hear from you. Oh, and clearly you haven't spent enough time in Central Park to have made such a quick judgement. Brenda Fricker (the actress who plays the old woman in Home Alone 2 - yes i know her name) would not be caught dead feeding pidgeons in any other park. - Chris Izzo
13th April 2005

your foot
hahahahhahaha... that's so something i would do. way to go! sorry, but that just made my night reading that... :P - Susanne
16th April 2005

Ol Dirty Critelli
...oldest trick in the book, "accidentally" getting into a girl's bed. Well done. Good to hear from you. The Giants and the Jets have folded and formed the New Jersey Penningtons. Also Lawrence Taylor was arrested for molesting collies. Enjoy yourself and save some of your old tricks for later!
16th April 2005

Hey There!
- Desiree
16th April 2005

Hey There
It sounds like you are having a great time in London so far. I am so jealous that you are out and about traveling all over Europe and I have to be here at home goin to school! But I am glad that you are having an awesome time. I read what you posted today, I must say I got a real good laugh that you got kicked off a bench because you have to pay to sit there! That is absolutely ridiculous lol! Well I have to run, I hope you are taking lots of pictures for us to see when you get back. Be safe and enjoy the rest of the time you will be spending in Europe! Desiree - Desiree

Tot: 0.201s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1774s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb