Carn the Socceroos!!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
June 23rd 2006
Published: June 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well, I dont have a hell of a lot to say in this blog....reason being....we've both been busy working!!! Yep, thats right, I was only 8hrs behind micky in landing a job myself!
(Although, I was offered a one day gig a couple of days after we got here, but declined...does that technically mean I'm the winner?????) hahaha, I can hear Micky saying 'not bloody likely'! Anyway, I've landed a nice little role for approximately 1 month, as an accounts payable officer for a big uk charity....a charity that happens to be right up my alley as they rescue dogs....and there's dogs walking around the office...how good is that?!?!? For anyone who knows me well, you would know that I would be in heaven being surrounded by my furry friends. By the way I'd like to send a big cheerio to Molly....'Herro Pooey' (Donzi can you pls pass that on for me...ta) So anyway, we're both finally earning pounds....yeehah... darn good wages when you convert em too!!! It takes us both about half an hour on the tube to get to work each day, and have of-course experienced peak hour.... happy to report back, its not tooooooo bad!
It would be better if I wasnt at 'armpit' height and if I could 'un-learn' the manners my folks taught me about not pushing and shoving, I'd probably get a seat more often. But hey, its easy to navigate, its fairly fast, and you can sleep on the way, which never really worked out all that well for me back home when I was driving to work......... so this is a bonus!

Okay, its the weekend tomorrow and we're trying to find good cheap things to do before getting our first pay packets next week, and starting our 'international weekends'.....woohoo, bring it on!! (spain is only around £50 return airfares) There is soooooo much to do here, its crazy, you couldnt possibly have a boring weekend, so I'll keep you posted with what we end up doing, and hopefully will have some pics for you too!
We're gonna try and get tickets to Wimbledon next week too, so cross your fingers for us!
Well we went down to the local again last night to watch Australia draw with Croatia (must be a bummer having to get up at 5am to watch it over there hey....8pm, was just perfect here:-)) Very interesting game, incase you hadnt heard, that ref was sacked today...and with good reason too. But the good news is, we're through to the next round and I believe we play Italy on Monday 8pm (I think) so that'll no doubt be even bigger than this last one. Speaking of, our little old local was packed to the brim last night, we could barely move, it was awesome, and not a croatian fan in site! :-) The bar tender thought it was a hoot having the bar that packed, he even filmed us all singing to send back home (ofcourse he's australian)
Well thats about it today, will definitely have an update on sunday for you!
Til then...have a nice weekend...and happy 50th Mum...Love ya lots!!! xx



Advertisement



Tot: 0.33s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0718s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb