We made it!!! Finally....


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
June 13th 2006
Published: June 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So we finally arrived in London safely!! Unfortunately I got food poisoning and was incredibly sick 5 hours before my flight started which just went away about..... oh 3 hours ago 😞 I feel sorry for all the people sitting next to me on the plane and in the airport as I was sick about every 20 minutes. Heidi met up with me in Houston so we could catch the flight to London and found me laying on the floor by the gate, weak and unable to move. Our flight to London was about 9 hours and I had time to regain a little bit of strength, but standing in line at customs, waiting for bags, trains walking to the hostel etc. kind of took it out of me again. It was funny trying to figure out the money situation and even trying to make a phone call on a payphone, we couldn't figure out which one was the phone number on our paper. Getting from the airport to the hostel is a bit of a blur, but as soon as we arrived we took a little nap and I feel 50 times better! London weather is pretty cool and cloudy, but for some reason, all the rooms in the hostel are really hot and muggy... ugh! And our room is 3 stories up from the street which is VERY loud! Makes it a little hard to sleep, but after so many hours trying to sleep on a plane, I'll take any bed! Our bags definitely get heavy after a while, and I don't know how Heidi does it, hers is 20 pounds heavier than mine! But I just figure if I can handle getting from Boise to London with food poisoning, the rest of the trip is going to be a breeeze :P Heidi and I are sitting in an internet cafe right now, the world cup is on every television in London, and England flags are hanging everywhere, I can only imagine it will get even more crazy as the finals get closer! Later I think we might check out the bar in our hostel, seemed to be packed already for a Monday night, but there are people from all over and everyone is meeting everyone, should be fun! Well signing off for now, I couldn't get my pictures on the computer, but hopefully I can figure it out later....I'll be back soon!

Advertisement



14th June 2006

Go team
Hey Tara, Sorry I didn't call you back Sunday. Glad to hear you made it OK, even with food poisoning. Sounds like things are off to a good start now you've arrived in pommy land.

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb