Working my way around my home nation's capital


Advertisement
Published: March 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Piccadilly CircusPiccadilly CircusPiccadilly Circus

London's take on Tokyo's neon culture, anyone?
Having been an international traveller since the year dot, I started to put together a travel diary as of the summer of 2005, just after I had purchased my first ever digital camera. It all seemed so fitting, and timely then, that the first entry to this travel diary was London, my home nation's capital city, where I had arranged to meet a friend and show her around two major European capital cities. The travel diary continues to this very day, and I am keeping it separate in content and style from this blog, which I intend be less formal in style, and more of a reflection of my emotions at the time of visiting each place en route. Most of the travel diary entries represent first and only visits to the place in question, therefore, most of them are 'first impressions' types of reflections, which emphasizes my 2 major purposes for travel - seeking out diversity and confronting the unfamiliar. This visit to London was, however, not my first ever visit, far from it, but in many ways, just as significant as any previous visit to London, as I was acting as a tour guide for a visitor from the
ThamesThamesThames

London's Millennium bridge, over the river Thames
USA, and it somehow set the ball rolling for the series of European city breaks to European capital cities in its wake. Discoveries for myself, such as the delights of dining out along Islington High Street, and going on a guided tour of Westminster Abbey might seem like standard tourist fare to most, but they were new experiences for myself, and I began to feel like a tourist who had flown in from Tokyo with the aim of getting around it all in a short time frame. As an added bonus, a sideline day trip to the Roman city of Bath added an extra edge to our stay in London, and we felt as though we had seen a cross-section of what might well be termed tourist-infested Britain! From London, we caught the Eurostar train over to France, another fresh experience for myself, and one of the world's crucial travel experiences for sure. I can scarcely grasp the sheer depth and extent of where the ongoing itinerary has taken me since this visit to London, but I can proclaim with confidence that it's a lifestyle choice with endless appeal, and I am glad to be yet another addition to the
Tower BridgeTower BridgeTower Bridge

Tower Bridge, from a 'swimmer's angle'!
mounting list of happy travelling bloggers!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

BathBath
Bath

Roman baths in Bath, a bona fide tourist magnet, and the town's centrepiece
BathamptonBathampton
Bathampton

Taking a cruise along Bath's waterway to Bathampton


Tot: 0.328s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 9; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0601s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb