London Newsflash!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
April 19th 2006
Published: April 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Lots of people said that it was hard to get a job in London, that to get a permanent job it was a process that could take up to 3 months - and that to get a good job you needed UK experience. Well we took everyone's advice, saved up hard in case we didn't get employment for a while, spoke to a whole lot of recuiters before we left NZ - and ensured that our CVs were passed on to relevant UK agencies before we ever left home.

Well the good news is that it paid off - nearly too soon if anything! We arrived late on the night of Sunday 2nd April, spent the whole next week sighgtseeing, unpacking, washing our clothes, scrubbing our packs & all those other fun things you do when you turn up stinky and grimy after nearly 3 months on the road (Brendon had just 3 t-shirts the entire time). The interview onslaught started on Monday the 10th April. Poor Brendon had 8 recuritment agency interviews in the first few days. What were Global Career Link (the NZ-based people who hooked us up with contacts over here & helped out with our CVs etc) thinking? Well on Wednesday Brendon called up and cancelled inteviews with yet more agencies - as he was meeting the ones from Monday & Tuesday in preparation for his four job interviews on Thursday & three the next working day (this Tuesday). It is mad, they have given him a whole year's worth of university-type notes on boring things like credit derivatives, options and rate swaps but he had one night to learn. Anyway, he's now juggling second interviewsa with the banks with first interviews with accounting firms & corporates. The agencies are slamming him - and don't ask about the number of calls he gets every day!

Anyway, onto me. On Tuesday I interviewed with StopGap (thanks James), on Wednesday I went to an interview they had set up for me - with a startup Telco (just next to Picadilly Circus) and on Thursday called me to say that I had the job & could I start on the next working day (Tuesday). Oh My G#d! Well, no I wasn't ready as I didn't know enough about the startup (their past experience, backers, financial support etc) and spent Easter agonsiing over a decision. I decided I needed more informatio to make the decision, had lunch with the CEO today & have agreed to join & start work on Monday! How exciting! So of course I celebrated with a nice spot of shopping - hmmm, new clothes - very necessary as we're still waiting for our gear to turn up from NZ! And we're going to celebrate a bit more tonight with a bit of bubbly.

And a huge thanks to Lesley, Kelly, Mum & Dad, CHris & Ali & everyone else who's helped me with this decision - shown me the right questions to ask.
Anyway, that's the news. Back to cooking dinner.

Meanwhile, Brendon's studying for the four interviews he has tomorrow. Hmmm, I'm glad that I don't have to worry about that for a wee while.

ANother update coming sometime soon.

Love to all

Claire

Advertisement



Tot: 0.029s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0131s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb