St Paul's


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
December 6th 2008
Published: December 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After what transpired to be the week from hell, I decided that I'd make the most of a stunning winter's day to go to St Paul's. (I needed all the divine intervention I could get after potentially losing my job, despite being in the middle of re-designing and re-writing Prudential's UK website, four good mates leaving the UK, my flat falling apart - the washing machine blew up, plumbing shit itself, net f*%ked out, water got turned off......oh, and a grand got skimmed from my account...)

We spent a good two hours wondering around the cathedral, and whilst it was disappointing the very top of the steeple was closed in December and January, we got to see all the Xmas decorations. You weren't supposed to take photos inside, but I managed to sneak in a few. The accoustics in the 'Whispering Gallery' at the top of the dome were amazing - you whisper facing the wall and it travels all the way around the circumference to someone on the other side!

It's easy to get into a work-play routine in London, which combined with sport and travel doesn't leave much time to do siteseeing. I really need to start making more of an effort to see all the beautiful sites right on my doorstep!


Additional photos below
Photos: 49, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0499s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb