God save our gracious Queen..


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
August 2nd 2008
Published: August 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

The girls' free for all in London
Celia, Allison, Coco and I roamed around the streets of London on Friday afternoon. Stops along the way: Big Ben, the London Eye, Westminster Abbey, Buckingham Palace

Big Ben: Who exactly is Ben?
Just outside the Westminster tube stop is none other than, Big Ben. One of the most famous icons in the world. I had to warn the girls.. "don't mind me if I cry". Of course, they understood, Celia said she cried when she first visited the Louvre Museum in Paris.

I didn't cry though. Instead, I was like, whoa, understandably.

The London Eye: the slowest "ferris wheel" EVER! =)
The views are breathtaking. I got some really good photos while we were on here. Possibly the best 15 pounds ever spent. You can see just how far the river Thames stretches, get a glimpse of the quads in the parliament buildings by BigBen, and the rest of the city of London.

Videos: Video 1, Video 2


Westminster Abbey: The Collegiate Church of St. Peter at Westminster
All the British Monarchs have been crowned here, as well as buried here; ie: Queen Elizabeth I, Mary Queen of Scots. Some commemorations too, ie: Winston Churchill, William Shakespeare, & Oscar Wilde to name a few.
Big BenBig BenBig Ben

First glimpse.


Buckingham Palace: Official residence of the British Monarch I will admit, I almost cried when we emerged from our walk, and through the trees, and I saw it. A single Union Jack overlooks the palace, and I was in awe. This is where the Queen lives.

Not right now though, they are in Windsor during the summer, so the parts of the palace are open to the public. Maybe later on in the coming weeks I'll have a chance to go in. =)

Video: Outside Buckingham




Additional photos below
Photos: 90, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

The London EyeThe London Eye
The London Eye

The world's Tallest Observation Wheel
Me & AllisonMe & Allison
Me & Allison

on the eye


Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.019s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb