London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
July 24th 2008
Published: July 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

LondonLondonLondon

Guarding Parliment
I landed in London yesterday afternoon, what a change from Uganda. Last night I showered, with hot water, and went around the corner for fish & chips and a pint. Wow! My senses were immediately reset. All the veggies I want are available, the electric stays on, there are traffic lights, and the air is free of diesel fuel and charcoal fumes. Don't think I could ever take these things for granted again.

London is a very cool place and very romantic. I can't wait to return with Deirdre and do the full immersion. There are pubs everywhere...everywhere, and they are busy from 10:00 A.M. on with very professional looking people. No wonder the British are so laid back. In the evening, happy but respectful revelers spill onto most corners laughing and singing. Most downtown pubs, where I'm at, close around 11 or 12. The noise stops immediately and everyone leaves. It's really pretty cool.

My eyes popped open at 5:30 this morning because it was so quiet. In Uganda, the eggs were not refrigerated so I avoided them. It was also just the second time in three weeks I had brewed coffee. Uganda has some of the most
Buckingham PalaceBuckingham PalaceBuckingham Palace

These chaps do a lot of marching back and forth, kind of like bumper pool or something
delectable coffee beans in the world, but you know what was served everywhere? Nescafe Instant! I was tempted to snatch the pot and drink the whole thing.

The people here are incredibly nice and always take time to give directions. The British Pound is outperforming the U.S. Dollar 2:1. The pound and the Japanese Yen are beginning to slide as well and everyone is pointing to Bush and Washington. Bush is so hated here, he is blasted in every paper and folks are willing to politely throw daggers his way. Obama has this place so excited I wish the UK could vote as well. The entire world is Obama Country!!!

I wanted to lie around all day, but instead settled on taking a long walking tour. Very happy I did, this city is so beautiful and stimulating. Now that all my sight-seeing is complete, I'm going to kick back with some great food and a pint later and bring my mind back in gear with the rat race. The children and sights of Uganda are right here with me, clinging to me like a new warm coat.

Why isn't everybody able to have access to the basic comforts so many of us are able to enjoy? It all seems so unfair. When I stop and reflect on the fact there is enough wealth in the world to eliminate poverty all together, it is criminal. When I realize the privileged would retain a high economic position while contributing to human-equity and social equality, it becomes outright pathetic. It is all about priorities, priorities for those looking up and for those on the top refusing to look down.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

RealityReality
Reality

My favorite attraction
More RealityMore Reality
More Reality

The price of gas is much less here. The regular would be $2.34 in U.S. dollars
The Famous Horse GuardThe Famous Horse Guard
The Famous Horse Guard

Stay in school kids
Police at workPolice at work
Police at work

Confronting a vagrant. This made me feel I was back home
EfficiencyEfficiency
Efficiency

Even the police conerve energy
TavernTavern
Tavern

Part of the landscape
MozartMozart
Mozart

Wolfgang Mozart's home is two blocks away from my B&B
My HotelMy Hotel
My Hotel

The Limetree Hotel, great place to stay. My room is the third window from the left on the top floor. The walk-up is helping be avoid a beer belly


24th July 2008

I feel like I've been to Uganda and London
Charlie, you should try travel writing as your next career!
24th July 2008

Glad to see you are safely on your way back
Charlie, I know this has been a real experience for you, but I would like to thank you for sharing it with all of us. Your blog and pictures said it all ... not only informative but interesting and educational. Welcome back!
25th July 2008

Flowers
So happy to hear you sampled fish and chips. The flowers hanging from the buildings remind me of Dublin. The people in the British Isles know how to garden. Of course, all that rain helps. Can't wait to see you.
27th July 2008

Hey Charlie. So now you have gained the greatest education that life could ever present you. I envisage that your days of taking even the most basic of privilages are behind you. Thank you for helping to spread the word. THIS IS A POLITICAL AGENDA! I wonder how our western leaders would sleep if witnessed these scenes of horror. It ALL boils down to political will... Its fantastic that people like you, i and the thousands of other volunteers can travel to Africa and contribute to improving the lives of these truely amazing people. Thanks for helping man!

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0695s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb