London - Take II


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
April 20th 2008
Published: June 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

ANZAC BallANZAC BallANZAC Ball

Katie, Brad, Hannah, James all looking rather Glam!
Hello there! No, you haven’t been caught in a time warp - I’m actually writing to you now about what I’m doing now... not six months ago!
Crazy I know! But with a bit of luck a few things will change around here, and I might even keep this up to date, and fill in the gap between my last blog and now.
Hey, miracles can happen!
Anyway, what you really want to hear about is what I’ve been doing lately in London.

I was fortunate enough to have James come and meet me at Heathrow to help me carry all of my belongings back to his place - something you really don’t feel like doing after being in transit for 30 hours or so (especially knowing you’re heading to work tomorrow!).
Generally speaking, it felt like I had arrived here for the first time. I was excited to see a red double-decker bus, but it also meant I had to set my life up again from scratch. I spend the following two weeks dossing at his place while searching for a new flat. I remember now why we were happy to stay in our last flat for so long.
Two UPs Two UPs Two UPs

James gives the coins a toss... it is heads or tails!!??
Flat hunting is so time consuming, and a little stressful. Lucky for me I had no projects lined up at work, and hence plenty of time to surf the web, and finally settled on a cute little place in St John’s Wood with two others chicks 😊

But even before I could move in, there was much excitement to be had. Specially the ANZAC Ball held at the beautiful Queens Club tennis grounds, where against all odds I bet the Ozzie’s (and everyone else at the ball) at their own game of ‘Two Up’ - winning myself a trip for two to Egypt!

The following weekend was a bank holiday over here, so a large group, i.e. 14, of us headed over to the Spanish Island of Menorca had a great time soaking up the sun and exploring the coastline... all of which you can read about in my next blog.

James’ new job has proven more and more profitable for the rest of us. Already I’ve gone to the Matchbox 20 gig at Wembley Arena, and Roger Waters (from Pink Floyd) at the 02 - every amazing concert has to have pyrotechnics! - plus we have
The Three MusketeersThe Three MusketeersThe Three Musketeers

James, Ben and Hanz at Matchbox 20
a few more gigs lined up for the upcoming weeks - and all for free! Thanks James’ work!

The next thing on my To Do List was catch up with everyone: A lot of people I hadn’t seen since Christmas, like 4 or 5 months ago! The sun had come out on Saturday, so we spent the day in Hyde Park with a picnic, cricket set and a frisbee 😊
That night was Matty’s Tramps & Toff’s Party, complete with a night-long line up of bands and DJs. However I think Wen was the only person that dressed as a Tramp? Still our unanimous vote for best dressed went to Brad - check out the photos.
I got to catch up with Leah and her mum plus Clay, Angela and James on Sunday with a nice stroll through Primrose Hill. We were all very excited about the start of summer and the lovely warm sun. However that proved to be short lived.

My favourite London weekend so far has to go to the following weekend, which started off with a party at Katie’s new flat where we all played with her new Nintendo Wii - I WANT ONE!
Matchbox 20Matchbox 20Matchbox 20

at Wembley Arena
… it’s a shame the portable BBQ wasn’t quite so successful. The next day Katie and I went to check out the Chislehurst Caves near her place. I was expecting maybe a couple of lime caves, or similar, that maybe joined somehow.
But the Chislehurst Caves were amazing, over 35km of interconnecting caves, all hand dug over the last few hundred years. There are three main group of caves, each with their own history and some more sinister than others.
The caves were also used as a shelter during the bomb raids; home to 15,000 people with considerably cramped living conditions, but perhaps more interestingly they have also been used as set for Doctor Who.

The next best attraction out this way is Blue Water, the impossibly large shopping mall, where Katie and I got a little bit carried away :P. Sunday was our big day, I had bought a 2 for 1 voucher a year go to get a haircut and style, professional make up, manicure and then a professional photoshoot! - altogether, a 6 hour ordeal!
Katie and I had so much fun we went back home and had a little photoshoot ourselves! We also ended up
Picnic in Hyde ParkPicnic in Hyde ParkPicnic in Hyde Park

.. its all so green!
forking out a fortune (and the rest) for a copy of the professional photos… coming to a blog near you….

Check out more Photos



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

A Big Hoot!A Big Hoot!
A Big Hoot!

Matt showing us his stuff at his Tramps and Toffs Party
The Biggest ToffThe Biggest Toff
The Biggest Toff

Best dressed goes to Brad... well done old chap!
Tramps or Toffs?Tramps or Toffs?
Tramps or Toffs?

Becca, Katie and Hannah
Whats that behind you??Whats that behind you??
Whats that behind you??

Kaite & Hannah check out the Chislehurst caves ... just before losing everyone and getting lost in the maze of cave tunnels!
Hot ChicksHot Chicks
Hot Chicks

Hannah & Katie feeling great after their professional photoshoot... time for some Haagen Dazs!
More Photos..More Photos..
More Photos..

Hannah & Katie had so much we continued our photoshoot at home :P
Full FXFull FX
Full FX

Roger Water from Pink Floyd shows us what a concert is meant to be like!
My New RoomMy New Room
My New Room

in my new flat at St John's Wood


Tot: 0.595s; Tpl: 0.056s; cc: 18; qc: 79; dbt: 0.4167s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb