Chinese New Year and Birthday Celebration!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
February 11th 2008
Published: February 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Chinese New Year!Chinese New Year!Chinese New Year!

Year of the Rat
Yesterday, Casy and I woke up and went down to Trafalgar Square to catch a glimpse of the Chinese New Year Parade. A glimpse is exactly what we got; it was so crowded that we had to stand on tiptoe to try to see over people, one of the situations where I'm especially thankful that I'm fairly tall. There were musicians, dancers with scarves, and a really huge dragon. There were red paper lanterns strung across all of the streets in China town, really quite beautiful to see. It was really nice to see so many people out in London just enjoying themselves rather than rushing down the street. There were lots of families too; you don't typically see too many children during the week in London, I think that it has to do with the fact that it's very expensive to live in the city and many people probably commute from the outskirts for work. After the parade, we walked around Leicester Square and got food in China town. We've had some gorgeous weather here for the past few days, so that made the excursion even nicer.

Once we got back to the flat, it was almost time to
This way pleaseThis way pleaseThis way please

Police directing the crowd at Trafalgar Square
start cooking for Jordan's birthday dinner and then we all ate together in our flat. Overall, a great day!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Casy and her pound paper dragonCasy and her pound paper dragon
Casy and her pound paper dragon

Don't underestimate the amusement value of these. I bought one too and it is now taped to my wall.
Looking out my windowLooking out my window
Looking out my window

I thought that the tree outside was confused and started blooming early, but there are other trees blooming in the squares. Either they're all confused or it's closer to spring here than I thought.
VespasVespas
Vespas

Riding on a Vespa is on my list of things that I would like to do before I leave.
BikesBikes
Bikes

Walking around with my camera for class and thought I'd snap a picture.
Striking posesStriking poses
Striking poses

Casy in the foreground, Jackie on the couch, and Rachel in the background
So sleeeepySo sleeeepy
So sleeeepy

Casy collapsing on her pile of clean laundry
Birthday Celebration!Birthday Celebration!
Birthday Celebration!

Ren, Jordan, Angus, and Casy at Tiger Tiger


12th February 2008

BE CAREFULL ON THE VESPA, THE TURNS ARE THE WORST...I WRECKED ONE INTO A MERCEDES WHILE IN MIAMI....GO SLOW...LOL
12th February 2008

HOTTIE
LOVE UR PIC...WHAT A BEAUTIFUL NECKLACE ;0

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0252s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb