Guards, Prisoners and the Ripper


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
July 13th 2005
Published: July 13th 2005
Edit Blog Post

So, it is my last day in London...for now. I'm sure I'll find a way to come back again. Michael and I saw a fair bit today for only having one full day in the city. We started with watching the changing of the guard at Buckingham Palace - very cool - we couldn't actually go into the Palace because it is closed until July 30 :-(
After the changing of the guard, we went to the Royal Mews (no, not a place for cats - it's her Majesty's stables). This, too, was interesting. A good place to go if you want something that doesn't take hours to visit, but still has a lot of history.
Then it was off to the Tower of London, which is actually a series of castles upon more castles than an actual tower. Our guide here was GREAT - I learned quite a bit here (yes, I can still learn things!). Michael and I plan to send our guard some Canadian cookies, as he pointed out his house in the Tower (cool, eh, to live there - after doing 22 years of service in the army and attaining a minimum rank of Sergeant Major), and he said his kitchen was the one with the presently empty Winnie the Pooh cookie jar in the window. We also got to see the Royal Jewels and MANY, MANY awesome weapons and armour in the Armoury (mmm...weapons, swords, plate mail!!!). I would highly suggest visiting here if you are ever in London, as this was a highly satisfying tour - perhaps among the best I have ever had.
After supper, we did the Jack the Ripper tour - not quite what I was expecting. I half thought that some guy would turn up in Victorian garb to do the tour in a very theatrical way. Instead, our guide was a playwright dude in jeans who spoke fast, but was very animated and knew A LOT about the Ripper murders. Still good, but I still think he should dress up.
Well, it's back to Ontario for me, at least until August 9. As they say around here, cheers...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.257s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 17; qc: 73; dbt: 0.064s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb