Ready for takeoff


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
January 16th 2007
Published: January 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Being back home in the US was amazing and extremely restful, but the trip still seemed such a long way off. Now I'm in London, leaving tomorrow night for India. In the month that I've been away, London seems to have shed its skin like a snake -- it's the same city only with completely new adverts, colder weather outfits, post-Christmas shopping windows and the tube fare has doubled to £4!!! What a disgrace! I met with a friend for lunch today and was horrified to see that the unwitting traveller could spend £8 -- $16 -- just to go a few stops and back again. It's true that this city robs you blind... We went to Itsu sushi for lunch and they were selling a tiny cup of pomegranate seeds (a total of 20 pieces) for £2 something. To think what that will buy me in India...

I went to STA travel as soon as I arrived to pick up our paper tickets (Why, WHY not etickets?) for the entire trip only to find they sent them to my old flat adress instead of to the STA office, as we had arranged! I've only just confirmed today with my old flatmates that they did arrive... phew! I actually was expecting something like this to happen, so I was completely calm but come AWN guys... A little bit of drama right from the start!

Another interesting development unfolded as I was repacking my bag to be more compact and it appears that I somehow neglected to pack an extra pair of jeans as well as my hiking trousers. I only have one pair of jeans and 3 skirts! This is a mystery to me as I remember packing them... Well, all the more room to buy some new clothes I guess. How the hell is it that my bag appears full - I guess it's all the anti-bacterial gel and malaria pills I guess. Hmmm.

My friends Denis and Vanessa also arrived in London yesterday and just left the flat to take their flight to Delhi. It's so amazing that I have friends that are doing the same thing as me and Kris - our conversations the last day have revolved around which anti-diarrhea medecine, what vaccinations, the dangers of malaria and the variety of camel safaris on offer. It also seems like everywhere I look it's referencing India, from adverts to magazine articles to the people around me. It's like I've put on a pair of special filtre glasses that are highlighting everything to do with this trip. Vanessa and Denis had the biggest smiles on their faces as they headed out the door. Thank GOD I am not working tomorrow -- I think I would die of jealousy if I were sending off friends to India and had to get up early and sit in front of a computer all day, stressing out about stuff I have no passion for. That world seems a lifetime away.

I'm meeting with loads of friends tonight for dinner and drinks. It's rainy January weather here but was 32 C in Mumbai today. We're meeting with Kris' former colleague's cousin for dinner tomorrow night. I have been blown away by his insights, generosity and willingness to really look in to hotels and give advice via email. I realise we need to be very mindful of this as it seems the Indian culture is to bend over backwards to help. It's such a beautiful way to react, but it left me feeling a bit like a burden when I would receive a long, detailed email in return to questions about which area in Mumbai to stay in, etc. We'll just really put up a fight over the dinner check as he's already offered dinner on him...

I'll update again on the weekend. I hope all my friends get a kick out of our adventures and mishaps -- there are sure to be plenty. Lots of love to all.

J


Advertisement



17th January 2007

Just 3 hours before takeoff!
Dear Jen, It's 12:30 pm our time on Wed and your flight is set for 3:30 (our time- 9:30 pm your time in London). I'm so excited for you! And Kris too! You both will be in my prayers and God has given me a promise: "Don't worry about Jen. I'm going to do a mighty work in her life." Love, Mom
30th January 2007

You're Blessed
Jen, Not sure if we've ever met. I work with your mother. Anyway I think of your adventure often and think the blog is a great way for us to "travel" with you. When you're Mom speaks of your adventure she really sparkles. Her faith in God, and daily prayers, are with you 24/7. Have Fun. Joe

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 15; qc: 72; dbt: 0.0591s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb