October and Highlands


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Lee
October 31st 2009
Published: November 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I just realized today was Halloween when a 13 yr old vampire knocked on the door. As I've been sick, I wasn't planning on going out and inadvertently missed buying candy (they're not getting my 400g chocolate bar). Anyway, I thought it would be a good time to hole up in my room, turn the other lights off, and add a blog entry.

Life has been good since my last entry, although what I thought would be a mild cold got out of hand last weekend when I went to Scotland. I think I may have picked up another bug to supplement the one I was recovering from.

My cousin Jenny (in whose house I'm staying) is leaving to Bermuda in 2 weeks. It's been great to have her around to help me get settled here, and the house has been perfect. It's a 50 min commute, which has only bothered me once. I would have gotten a friend's ticket to a Noam Chomsky lecture on Thursday if I'd have been able to make it out there.

My friend Ilan and his wife and son from Mexico City stayed with me for 2 nights this past week. I had a good time entertaining and making lasagna for them. Ilan is working on his PHD in studying water and water purification, and they tell me that Mexico City could be out of water as early as February. Yikes.

The trip up to Edinburgh and the Highlands was wonderful! I immediately wished I had chosen to study in Edinburgh when I got there, although after gauging the night life, I decided that I don't regret my decision. The Highlands were incredible even in the rain.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.031s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb