We all live in a yellow submarine....


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Kensington
July 16th 2006
Published: July 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I wanna be your man!I wanna be your man!I wanna be your man!

Mick following the footsteps of the famous 'Beatles' I couldnt decide which song title to use as the image title..it was a toss up between this and 'Im a loser' hahah, only trickin!
Its been a hard days night, and I've been working like a dog.... Love, Love me do, you know I love you.....All you need is love, da, da, da, da, da.....Sing along with me........
Ahh the Beatles, bringing back memories anyone? I happen to be a child of the seventies who for some strange reason, never really emerged from the era, oh well, I'm not ashamed to admit it, and I'm thrilled to say, we took a stoll across a famous pedestrian crossing where the brilliant Beatles filmed their clips, out the front of Abbey Road Studios! Woohoo! Actually, to be honest, its not all that, without the beatles actually standing on the crossing, it looks just like any ordinary crossing.....funny that! But nonetheless, we've posed there now, and thats what counts.
So, our weekend consisted of dodging traffic whilst standing on a crossing taking pics (the traffic are sick of stopping for dopey tourists) we then visited the famous Portobello Road markets in Nottinghill, apparently the place to 'be seen' along with numerous celebrities.
Unfortunately, our celebrity viewing still stands at Ray Martin and Rolf Harris, although, there was that Missy Higgins lookalike.....hahaha.
Anyway, London turned on a scorching 29
I saw her standing there!I saw her standing there!I saw her standing there!

speaking of losers....this is me trying to pose in the middle, with mick telling me to stay still, but I can hear a motorbike coming so I'm about to bolt...never really been good at crossing the road.
degree weekend, with temps tipped to hit 33 tomorrow (oh my Lord....they'll be dropping like flies.....get the helicopters ready with the water bottles, and make sure the city's on evacuation alert...they can ship em to norway if it gets too bad.....) so we were lapping up the sunshine once again and nabbed a couple of bargains at the flea market.
Our little home town (Earls Court) also put on a street carnival for us, so we checked that out but basically had a fairly easy weekend.
We also got around to booking tickets to go to France next weekend....woohoo! We had trouble finding cheap flights and train fares cos of the tour de france, but managed to score a bargain 10 quid bus ticket....how good is that!
So thats about it for this weekend, but next blog promises to be a doozy with pics from France....bring it on!
Au revoir .... thats french for goodbye, just incase you didnt know and "Votre grenouille a mangé mon dejeuner" .....is french for: 'your frog ate my lunch!'......hey, it could come in handy, you never know.







Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

In spite of all the danger!In spite of all the danger!
In spite of all the danger!

Here's me after being told 'now cross it again, and this time do it properly' but I'm going so fast I'm a blur! Seriously Mum, did u teach me to cross the road or not? cos I still seem to need adult supervision!
Abbey Road StudiosAbbey Road Studios
Abbey Road Studios

This is the original studio where the Beatles recorded their music. Unfortunately its closed to the public, but there's talk it could be turned into a beatles museum...nice idea!
Notting Hills Portobello RoadNotting Hills Portobello Road
Notting Hills Portobello Road

Its cute aint it! And, we found the best chippy (fish n chip shop) around...yummo and soooo healthy! (not)
Portobello Road AgainPortobello Road Again
Portobello Road Again

Some bargains to be had by all. Its an antique market up one end, and a flea market down the other end, so there's something for everyone!
Lords Cricket OvalLords Cricket Oval
Lords Cricket Oval

We also managed to stumble across this. Mick thought he'd died and gone to heaven. Lucky there wasnt an aussie match on, cos we forgot our flag!
Earls Court Street FairEarls Court Street Fair
Earls Court Street Fair

This street fair was in our very own neighbourhood. Ahh, aint that nice, them doin all that, just for us.


17th July 2006

genetic inheritance
Noooo Tan you must have the same problem I have, its all in the timeing. You could take photos and get micka to do the walking or maybe its cos you stoll instead of stroll across babe?
25th July 2006

Um
Oh thats right, happy birthday Micka ya old fart! Your what 34 by now?Yeah, ha ha ha 34, ahh i crack me up!

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.031s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb