Fitting In


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Islington
June 25th 2012
Published: June 25th 2012
Edit Blog Post

After being in London for just over two weeks I already feel like a native. When I went off on my own to the museum I was not nervous about traveling around the city alone. In fact, I was excited to see just what I could accomplish. Each day I feel as if I am soaking up more of Europe. For example, when I went to lunch today at a crepe cafe (again), I knew exactly which coins to use and what 'takeaway' meant without thinking twice about it. A true Londoner!

The office has also given me the opportunity to fit in more. Merely traveling to a foreign country and actually working there are two completely different experiences. The first week at the office jolted my nerves as I was afraid of messing up tea, not updating pages correctly, and communicating the wrong. Now I feel as if I can do all these things without raising my heart rate. Woo-hoo!

The sad thing about finally fitting in is that I only have five more weeks in this glorious city. By the time I develop an accent it will probably be time to head home. Although I have thought about coming back here to attend law school! Wouldn't that be an amazing experience?

Tomorrow after work I might venture over to Tate Modern (another museum) on my own to explore a bit! I love that I have this city waiting for me each night and weekend. Every day I could do something different. Shopping? Museums? Parks? Landmarks? AHHH...I love it! I am also looking in to attending 'The Dark Knight Rises' movie premiere in Leicester Square next month...now that will be EPIC!

That's all for now, but please keep checking back as I try to update my readers as often as possible. Thank you for reading my blog! I love sharing my experiences!

~Kayleigh

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb