London's in the air


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Islington
February 2nd 2007
Published: February 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Wow, I've been here a week and I haven't written anything yet. Well, this is quite the fantastic city I'm living in. I can't wait to find all the little secret spots and be able to get around like a local. So far I've done all the big important stuff--see plays, drink in pubs, and spend too much money on coffee.

I'm living in Islington on Holloway road which isn't exactly the nicest area. Its taking me a while to get used to the sirens (you're lucky if you can go 5 minutes without hearing them). But all in all, I've always wanted to live in a busy area, and I don't think you can get much more busy than holloway road. Tons of stores and restaurants everywhere, and only a 10 minute walk to the tube station which you can take if you want to go somewhere nice.

So far I've seen 2 shows--Cabaret and Evita, both were really good. I thought Cabaret was amazingly done. The ending of it totally freaked me out, it was really dark and a little shocking. Evita had a huge set and the lead actress was from Argentina, I thought she made a pretty perfect Evita.

People here have been not what I've expected...I'm on a floor with all americans, and most of them are from wisconsin. I thought it would be a little more diverse. I'd like to meet some Brittish people to hang out with, but right now I'm enjoying my time with my fellow americans.

I think my favorite pasttime so far in this city is just walking around and watching the people and sights. I love picadilly circus and Leicester square. St. Paul's is huge and beautiful. i really enjoy seeing the Thames and all the different bridges. The Globe Theatre, the Tate Modern art gallery, the markets, the random stores, the coffee shops everywhere, china town, covent garden, everything is especially exciting right now.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Opera TavernOpera Tavern
Opera Tavern

We had to stop and have a pint in the Opera Tavern in covent garden...still not used to having to pay $6 for a beer


Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0551s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb