May 10th & 11th 2009


Advertisement
Published: May 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Sunday 10th May 2009



Sunday the day of rest! Well, sometimes anyway...it was kind of a rough night. Everyone came back into the room at about 4.30am which is to be expected on a Saturday night but they just kept talking really, really loudly and I think one of them was smoking in the room! Ewwww. An early morning start.

Caught up with Bec and Vanessa for breakfast and then decided to do absolutely nothing at all.

I mean literally nothing. I organised myself a bit better and that took the better part of the day.

Karen has moved out to a place for 3 weeks. A friend of hers and her partner went away for three weeks so Karen gets to rent their place for a while fairly cheaply. Lucky her!

Since its Bec's last night here before she moves to Aberdeen we have decided to go to an Indian place down the road. Vanessa has another new roomate, Dan from America whose really nice, who is coming along with us as well. So Bec, Vanessa, Dan and I go for Indian.

The place we went was fairly reasonably priced and we even shared a bottle of red wine! I miss wine so much but its quite expensive over here and I don't have a fridge to keep it cool (for white I mean!). I have to say I LOVE INDIAN food. It's so so yummy!!

I had a very enjoyable evening and it was really nice to go out for a nice meal! I actually ate meat today!!

Ended up going to bed at a reasonable hour...well kind of. Ready for another day of job hunting!

Monday 11th May 2009



A decent night's sleep!! Had breakfast with Dan and Vanessa.

Went to Primark on Oxford Street and OMG! It is absolutely huge. I could have spent so much money. I spend a bit but they were all bargains, I SWEAR!!



You just can't go wrong with those prices and if they break straight away, it's ok!

From shopping at Primark, Vanessa and I went to BUNAC to continue the job search and of course check emails. NOTHING! It's starting to get a bit depressing that I haven't heard anything but I guess its only been 1 week so I can't ask for too much!

Get back to the hostel and hop onto the laptop to apply for more jobs. I must have applied for about 10 more! Arranged to meet Karen for drinks at 3pm - she must miss us already because she's only just moved out of the hostel!

Had some drinks and decided to ring Poolia back because I hadn't heard anything. Apparently the boss of the company was away on Friday and was in meetings most of the day today. It is really difficult to try to be really interested but not too pushy at the same time. Spoke with Susan and she assured me she would have an answer to me by the end of the day.

Couple of drinks later and about half past four - the phone rings!! YAH!! Pre-interview at 10.30am at Poolia to ensure that I am ready for the interview then 12.30pm at the International Transport Workers Federation. A global company that has 654 unions representing 4.5 million people from 148 different countries with its head office in London. If I get the job I would be working in the legal department. Here's hoping!!

Finally have their website address and trying to do some prep work before I go for my interview.

Not much for dinner - nachos...again!! I LOVE THEM!! I ate a couple of jalepenos - thankfully they weren't too hot!

My eyes and brain are so tired from trying to remember so much information but its worth it!

Early night again so I'm prepped for the interview!

Missing everyone a lot tonight - I hope I can sleep well.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0598s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb