Day 16: London overnight from Iceland


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Hammersmith
April 21st 2006
Published: September 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Day 16: April 21 - ICELAND - Reykjavik, ENGLAND - London
Accommodation: Globetrotter Inn Hostel, Hammersmith, London

I woke up around 11am or midday, packed up my stuff, then carried my bags to the nearest hotel where I was to book an airport shuttle. It was still bitterly cold and overcast as most of my days in Iceland had been. I grabbed a drink, caught my shuttle, and caught my Icelandair flight back to London Heathrow. I was so buggered that I fell asleep on the flight and missed my free meal, but it was no biggie I suppose.
After arriving at Heathrow and going back through passport control (my 2nd time and already sick of the lines of people and questions the staff asked me) I was considering sleeping in the airport before a flight out to Turkey the next day. Eventually I decided this was no wise and took a Tube into London. I was booked into a Hammersmith hostel in a week’s time so I tried getting a dorm bed there that night, and I was in luck, so off I went. I got to the hostel desk and I ran into a girl named Kathy who was in several of my tourism classes at the University of Canberra. What a coincidence! Funnily enough we didn’t speak much in or out of classes so this day we exchange the most words between each other than all our times combined at uni. It’s funny how meeting other Aussies in London gets you talking. So I checked into my room, called my mum because I couldn’t sleep and hadn’t called since I was in Canada, and caught some sleep.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.227s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0381s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb