Radiohead -- LIVE!


Advertisement
Published: June 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The StageThe StageThe Stage

Yes, we were a bit far back, but we could hear them just fine and we were not squashed by the crowd.
Eileen and I for years used to talk about the fact that we could do anything. The example we always used was one weekend during the summer. We had left work and driven down the shore. On the Friday night, we sat at a very posh restaurant, in our silk blouses and suits, eating proper food and drinking wine. At 7.00 the next morning, we were on a fishing boat, in shorts and tee shirts, drinking coffee with the fisherman and baiting our own hooks.

I had the exact same conversation with Jeremy tonight. Four days ago, we were all dressed up (in hats even!), drinking champagne and hanging out with the queen. Tonight, we were in jeans and trainers, standing in a park in East London, drinking beer and listening to Radiohead perform live. We toasted each other with our paper pint "glasses" and decided that this summer is heading to be one of the best ever. I was celebrating tonight -- my money has come in and so now I am officially free of the corporate machine. Look out world!

It was actually Jeremy who got me into Radiohead. It is the group that plays most often on his iPod and he was always getting me to listen to their songs. I eventually downloaded their stuff for myself and have become quite a fan. When we heard that they were going to be playing live, we knew we had to go see for ourselves. We managed to corral quite a few of our friends and, braving the tube at rush hour, went out to Victoria Park on the other side of town.

Amazing concert. These guys are so different from the norm and they just played for themselves. At the end, they played some tunes that everyone knew, but a lot of it was new.

There was one incredible moment. Just as the sun was going down, they played one of their most famous songs called "Karma Police". The wonderful title aside, it is a lovely song. At the end, the lead singer just played an acoustic guitar and the crowd sang the song. Gave me chills. I've always said that to stand in front of thousands of people and hear them sing a song back to you that you wrote must be one of the greatest highs in the world. I'll never know. I'll just be one of the ones singing!



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0222s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb