I'm in London. Still. (as in not moving! Woohoo!)


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Fulham
August 23rd 2005
Published: August 23rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

You have to take the touristy photos doncha?You have to take the touristy photos doncha?You have to take the touristy photos doncha?

Tower Bridge in London on the Thames - I always thought that it was London Bridge, but apparently I was mistaken.
Ahh, the land of greasy fried things, stuffy men in suits and rain! I got in at... some... time... or other... didn't really have a grasp on that sort of thing after probably 24 hours of solid travel. I definitely found it hard to beleive that I managed to leave Ko Tao one morning and be flung halfway across the world to England by the next afternoon! Surprisingly, though I don't have any jet lag today! Red met me at the airport and we come back to Fulham, got a bite to eat and a few beers (oh god! GOOD English Ale! REAL BEER! REEEEALLLL BEEEERRRRR!!!! GHAAGHGHGAHGHHHHH!!! 😊 and before I knew it it was 11pm and the world was starting to float around me in a strange, semi consciouss way - as a result of 36 hours without sleep. So I think that was my jet lag, because today I woke up at 8 and have been flying around London with Red all day eating English sandwiches, looking at English sights, doing English things and feeling thoroughly English about things.

The weather here is cold and sunny, and I am almost certain that I won't survive winter here. Heading
The real London BridgeThe real London BridgeThe real London Bridge

It actually sucks. It must've fallen down and they rebuilt it in the 80s or something! Even the Narrows Bridge is more exciting!
to Oxford tomorrow to catch up with Benny and try to find a job! I spent today what I would usually spend in a WEEK in Thailand! And I'm about to check my bank balance for the first time in a month, so if nobody hears back from me it means I've died of shock.

Cheerio.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Looking posh at Big BenLooking posh at Big Ben
Looking posh at Big Ben

I was there. It had to be done.
More things BritishMore things British
More things British

The museum of Natural History. We went in and looked at dinosaurs. Splendid.
Me & Red on the TubeMe & Red on the Tube
Me & Red on the Tube

I really am a cheesy looking man at times.
...to wander around...to wander around
...to wander around

didn't buy any records though. Too expensive!
Our little mateOur little mate
Our little mate

In Hyde Park. This squirrel kept hangin' around while Red & I had a game of cards.
At the MonumentAt the Monument
At the Monument

monumental isn't it?


23rd August 2005

Thanks for all the news,Charlie. I'm curious about the blog sent in transit.Did you send it from the plane? I still don't know if I should send emails or comments. Gail will be in UK in about a week. Hope she can catch up with you, even if its just on the phone.lots of love from OZ
24th August 2005

Fulham
Hello love, glad you're so well and happy. My best mate lives in Fulham, let me know if you want me to give you her details if you plan on sticking around there. Good luck with the job search. Make sure you get a British bank account, it'll be impossible otherwise. Take good care. xx
25th August 2005

HAH! I NEVER KNEW LONDON HAD SQUIRLS!
26th August 2005

hehehe did u catch a taxi to "a bar - just your average english bar" and was then swarmed with hot models who proceeded to take you home? hehe just kiddddding! i watch way too many movies. such a change of scene to the tropical paridises!!! are u catching up with alaya anytime? love ya heappps and miss u more.

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 19; qc: 71; dbt: 0.0516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb