I'm here...safe and sound


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Enfield Town
September 8th 2005
Published: September 8th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I made it in to London this morning on time and then went and hopped on the Tube. They didn't stop me and make me open any of my bags and immigration/customs went VERY quickly. I was quite happy that it was so easy. I met up with my sister and her friend Kevin at the Oakwood Station and we proceeded to try and figure out the bus system....not very good at it I'm afraid. :-( I think we took 2 buses and still ended up walking quite a ways with 6 pieces of luggage (not all mine, thank goodness). I found the place where I'm going to be reporting to work on Monday, and the housing they have for me is literally about 10 yards away. There should be no reason I'm late to work!

I have my own room--for those of you that knew the size of my first room in MacDonald at BGSU, the room is about half that size. Not large, but large enough for now. There are two other girls that also have rooms which I suspect are both nicer than mine, but I haven't seen one of the rooms. I met Lauren, an OT, and she said the other girl, Heather, was an SLP. Seemed very nice and I think that it'll work well between us. There is a shared kitchen, "living room," and toilet and bath. No shower. No AC. But good times other than that. Lauren told us how to use the WAGN train and get back to Central London to do some sightseeing and sent us on our way. We made it to King's Cross Station and found the internet, which is for now my only means of communication. I seem to have lost/misplaced/dropped my phone sometime between taking my stuff out of my car and putting it in my friends' car to get to the airport. Hopefully none of you have tried to call me! Not that it would work over here anyway. Still trying to figure out what I should do for phone service. I need to ask the other girls in my flat. Alright, must get off of here so that I can continue around town seeing the sights. Email me for now...phone and address to come shortly. Pics too!

Advertisement



8th September 2005

Hey Mary
I am so glad you had a safe trip...I'm almost a little jealous of your abroad employment! I hope you have a blast and spread your UNCG smarts all over Europe! Meet a cute guy while you're at it! I look forward to hearing from you and all about your great European adventures. :) Mya
8th September 2005

Hey Mary---Glad you made it there safely. I look forward to hearing about all of your new "adventures." I hope to talk to you soon...
8th September 2005

Yea! You made it!
See, you make this move abroad stuff seem really easy! I hope that everything continues to flow along smoothly for you; send your address when you have it. Take care of yourself! Love, Lori
8th September 2005

Glad you made it.
This sure has been a long time coming. Glad to see that things finally worked out. Enjoy your letter. Like to hear from you and your adventures. Keep us posted.
9th September 2005

I feel like I'm traveling with you...
Glad to hear that you're safe and sound. Everything sounds simply delightful. Look forward to the daily entries and new pictures.
9th September 2005

Hello
Hi Mary! I'm glad that you arrived safely. Enjoy your couple days of not working. I hope work goes well for you on Monday. Bye.
9th September 2005

glad you made it safe!
Hey Mary, hope you get a new phone soon. be sure to try a place called wagamamma that serves all ramen noodles. i've heard its great. can we send you snail mail in the uk? sorry we missed your party but i enjoy living vicariously through you! your blog is very interesting! be safe and i can't wait to read about your adventures!

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0342s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb