Just touched down in London town


Advertisement
Published: January 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello blogging world!

To be honest, I never thought I would succumb to a blog, but I think recording all my thoughts/adventures will be helpful when I get amnesia.

My journey starts off in London, England. I landed yesterday morning looking homeless and sleep deprived only to find my aunt AND grandma waiting for me at the "Arrivals" gate. Normally I am rushed off to sightseeing and museums, but I was actually given permission to sleep! However, I didn't give in to the peer pressure of jet-lag and marched on.

My aunt lives in Central London, right near the Elephant and Castle (a major intersection in London + its surrounding area). It's very close to the tube and a lot of bus stops that take out to the heart of the city. There's even a "shopping mall" that looks straight out of my most recent South Africa/Zambia trip.

In the evening, I was taken to the Foundling Hospital Museum where we saw an exhibit on the small pieces of fabric that mothers left with their children when they "dropped" them off at the hospital in the olden days. It was actually sort of neat. We then had dinner at an Italian restaurant where I had tortelloni stuffed with venison. Delicious!

I'm skipping a bit, but basically I passed out at 10pm and woke up at 9am the next day to prepare for my great aunt/great uncle's 60th wedding anniversary which was hosted by their daughter/son in law in Oxfordshire (pretty much Oxford). Driving there was a blast because my Granny got to listen to Gettin' Over You by David Guetta, More by Usher, and Raise Your Glass by Pink. Plus a slew of techno music courtesy of the BBC. I met a ton of relatives I didn't even know existed and probably forgot half their names, but the food was amazing and always good to put Canada on the map (Some man thought Ontario was a city..oops).

Anyways, it's definitely time for bed. Will post photos when I can actually take some! My fun adventures start on Tuesday when I explore on my own. Love you all!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0579s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb