24 hours til departure


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Crystal Palace
January 26th 2011
Published: January 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The last few days, leading up to today, have been taken up mostly by trying to clear my flat and get it ready to hand back to the letting agents - tomorrow I have to go down to South Norwood to hand back the keys before I make my way across the city to Heathrow in the afternoon.

Everything I put on eBay went! Sometimes it took a couple of tries if I made the starting price too high the first time, but even though most things were specified as collection only they sold, and I didn't have any problems with being let down after having arranged times for people to come and pick up the items - including, this afternoon, my bed which just about fit in the buyer's van.

One of the people who responded to an ad I put on Freecycle a couple of weeks ago works to help people who for one reason or another have had to start from scratch at short notice. I invited them back yesterday to collect a whole lot more stuff. Some of that will I'm sure have to go to the tip (box full of empty CD boxes, anyone?) but hopefully a lot else will come in useful to someone in need after I've left. The other person who has taken a lot of stuff off my hands at short notice this week has been Dom, my neighbour downstairs who bought my green living room curtains, wardrobe and several other smaller items from me.

I arranged for end-of-tenancy cleaners to come in today - a local business called Cleaning Green who were recommended to me by a poster on the Virtual Norwood forums after I posted regarding the excessive quote given to me by one of the big domestic cleaning franchises. The two ladies who came, Tricia and Sarah were very friendly and I was satisfied with the job they did, so hopefully my letting agents will be happy that the flat is clean. After they left and I waited for 1) DHL to collect a box I'd arranged to get picked up and sent to my parents in Newcastle and 2) Virgin Media to come and collect my cable box, modem and router I went for a curry at the Crystal Palace Tandoori (again, definitely recommended if you're reading this blog because you're coming to this part of South London) and then to my local real ale pub, the Grape & Grain which fortunately has free wi-fi because since Virgin Media came I of course don't have my home internet.

Advertisement



27th January 2011

Bon Voyage
Great to see everything has gone according to plan and you are now ready to go. After years and years of study and achieving your PHD you have earned this fantastic opportunity to travel. Hope you see lots of exciting places and meet many new friends. Enjoy everything. We will be following you on your Blog. Take care. Love Mam and Dad

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0607s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb