Bond, Darcy and Covent Garden


Advertisement
Published: July 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Covent GardenCovent GardenCovent Garden

Where I spent the day.
So, the Old Me won a huge battle last week. I was meant to be in Germany this week, but OM went into a panic about the ever growing list of things to do and decided to stay home to get them done. To my credit, they are all done and OM is resting quietly (for the time being). New Me, frustrated that I couldn't bring myself to leave, kicked in yesterday and decided that some fun was due.

It all started with a trip to the cinema. As odd as it sounds, I never go anymore. I reckon that £8/$16 for something that will be out on video in a few weeks is just something that I am not interested in. However, I am extraordinarily interested in James Bond and Mr. Darcy. Put the two of them together in one film AND have them take their shirts off?? I'm in.

"Mama Mia" has had mixed reviews to put it mildly. I believe, however, that you'd have to be the worst kind of cynic not to love this film. OK - the singing is not the best and it is camp to the point of no return. But, you
Bow Street Magistrates CourtBow Street Magistrates CourtBow Street Magistrates Court

This was once a police station, home of the Bow Street Runners - the world's first police force. Oscar Wilde spent two weeks here and the Artful Dodger is brought here when he is arrested.
have an outstanding comedic cast, Greek scenery and ABBA. I ask you - how can you go wrong? I very nearly sat through it again, but decided to wait to buy the DVD when it comes out. I am still singing the songs as I walk through my day - and imaging Messrs. Bond and Darcy dancing around without their shirts on. Sigh...

Today, I had to go down to Covent Garden to buy a present for a friend of mine. I decided that since I was down there anyway, I would play tourist in my hometown and walk around to take photos. It was a lovely, sunny day so I walked for hours around the small streets and took 118 photos of the area. I will let the photos do the talking as I think some of them came out really well.

I spent the evening with my friend Michael and some of his colleagues at a curry house listening to rugby players tell stories of their adventures. Rugby and curry? It doesn't get more English than that. New Me was very happy at the end of the day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Red Phone BoxesRed Phone Boxes
Red Phone Boxes

With the advent of mobile phones, these symbols of London are becoming increasingly rare. One never sees this many together anymore.
The Royal Opera HouseThe Royal Opera House
The Royal Opera House

Where the best seats are £145, but worth every penny.
Theatre Royal Drury LaneTheatre Royal Drury Lane
Theatre Royal Drury Lane

The oldest theatre in London. Samuel Pepys went to the opening night in 1663.
An Italian RestaurantAn Italian Restaurant
An Italian Restaurant

I just loved all the flowers.
No 8 Russell StreetNo 8 Russell Street
No 8 Russell Street

Back when Boswell and Johnson were hanging out together, this was a street of coffee shops. It still is, but now they have internet access and one of them is called Starbucks.
Covent GardenCovent Garden
Covent Garden

The main part of the Piazza.
Covent GardenCovent Garden
Covent Garden

The interior.
Covent GardenCovent Garden
Covent Garden

This sign for a tobacco shop has been standing there since 1789.
RulesRules
Rules

One of the oldest restaurants in London. It still serves the best British fare in town.
Blue PlaqueBlue Plaque
Blue Plaque

One of the many. That date just keeps popping up!
Chandos PlaceChandos Place
Chandos Place

This is the building where Charles Dickens was paid a shilling a day to work in the Blacking Factory when his parents were sent to debtors prison. Made me a bit sad.
Sign in an English ChurchyardSign in an English Churchyard
Sign in an English Churchyard

I do love this country. They can get angry and be polite all at the same time.
St. Paul's ChurchSt. Paul's Church
St. Paul's Church

Hidden among the hustle and bustle, this churchyard is an oasis of calm and beautiful flowers.
St. Paul's ChurchSt. Paul's Church
St. Paul's Church

The church itself. It has been standing for centuries and is known as the "Actor's Church".
St. Paul's ChurchSt. Paul's Church
St. Paul's Church

One of the memorials.
St. Paul's ChurchSt. Paul's Church
St. Paul's Church

Some more memorials.
St. Paul's ChurchSt. Paul's Church
St. Paul's Church

The interior.
St. Paul's ChurchSt. Paul's Church
St. Paul's Church

The other side, facing onto the Piazza. It is under these pillars that Henry Higgins meets Eliza for the first time. Now, it is a prime spot for street performers.
Punch and JudyPunch and Judy
Punch and Judy

So named because the first P&J show was put on right here. Now a great pub, it is also the site of the very first ZPro Friday Night Drinks in May of 2000.
Street PerformerStreet Performer
Street Performer

The one that I watched. Hilarious guy who posed for about a dozen photos. This is the best of the lot.
Street PerformerStreet Performer
Street Performer

The beginning of the end of his act.
Street PerformerStreet Performer
Street Performer

The climax of the event.
The Lamb and FlagThe Lamb and Flag
The Lamb and Flag

One of the oldest pubs in London. It used to be called the Bucket of Blood because prize fights were held here. They have been licensed to sell ale since 1632.
StanfordsStanfords
Stanfords

The best shop in London. All they sell are maps and guidebooks. I have been known to sit in this shop for entire afternoons. Today, I resisted the temptation.


Tot: 0.364s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb