Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Clapham
February 2nd 2009
Published: February 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Do I look like him?Do I look like him?Do I look like him?

Brendon investigates Kim & Jake's snowman.....in his dressing gown & slippers
The worst snow fall in 18 years...some reports say the worst since 1964. FANTASTIC.

The weekend started with a lovely walk around Richmond, past the palace, along the riverbank, through the park, tea at Pembroke Lodge and back through the delightful shops of a very upmarket town. Hmm, Brendon, any chance we can move here?

Yesterday (Sunday) Brendon and I wrapped up in our extra warm running Skins (thanks Santa), our woolly hats and (for me) gloves - and set off for a jog to Battersea Park & the Thames. The only people outside were completely rugged up and looking distinctly miserable - or, like us, had on extremely sexy, Waaaaarm Skins. On our way back to Clapham beautiful soft white flakes started spiralling around out. Floating down so lightly I thought they would never reach the ground.

Light snow flakes teased us all evening. Would it really snow - or was this it? We went to bed, expectant and excited - just like you do when you think Santa might be coming down the chimney. Waking up just as excited the first thing we did was look out the window. Wow. For a little sun blessed kiwi it was magical wake up and find our world transformed by snow.

Brendon’s work instructed all staff to stay at home. With 10 of 11 tube lines down, and no buses running, I made an executive decision to keep Brendon company. While I was trying to work (yes I was!) Brendon explored our street . Nobody ventured out of their houses for ages. The snow dampens all sound, and our whole street was blissfully quiet. Finally we saw Jake & Kim (81A) struggle past in their ski gear. They made it to the end of the road before her work called and told her to stay home. All dressed up and nowhere to go? Time to make a snowman. And they did. The nicest I’ve seen. And it’s standing sentinel over the residence of Clarence Ave.

Monday is weekly grocery day - and all of you who know how much Brendon likes food will know that rain, hail or snow we must eat. Also, with the reports on Twitter of people stockpiling food, and the potential for snow all week, I was getting a bit worried, So all kitted up in hiking boots, hat, gloves (2 pairs), thermals,
Richmond BridgeRichmond BridgeRichmond Bridge

Built in 1777 - a beautiful path over the Thames - and a lovely spot for a Saturday walk
strong trousers, a merino jumper, a polar fleece and waterproof over trousers & jacket I decided I might be able to make it out the front door.

Here is a picture summary of our trip into Clapham to do the shopping.

No ordinary trip you will understand.

Unfortunately the batteries ran out before I captured my best photos. They are on my mobile & I will download them next time I can get into the office & get my phone charger / picture downloader. So watch this space for more….



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

A lovely Saturday walkA lovely Saturday walk
A lovely Saturday walk

The Thames path in Richmond
Breakfast outside anyone?Breakfast outside anyone?
Breakfast outside anyone?

Our breakfast table brings new meaning to the phrase 'snowed under'
Our backyardOur backyard
Our backyard

hmm - now I know why gardening is only seasonal in the UK.
Happy NeighboursHappy Neighbours
Happy Neighbours

Brendan & Phil (85A) also rugged up for an exploratory expedition into Clapham. First stop, the Clarence Ave Snowman.
Looking down our cul-de-sacLooking down our cul-de-sac
Looking down our cul-de-sac

Wow - is this our street? Totally unrecongisable.


Tot: 2.847s; Tpl: 0.191s; cc: 12; qc: 62; dbt: 0.4528s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 10; ; mem: 1.2mb