Somewhat unsatisfyingly easy...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Clapham
March 20th 2008
Published: March 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

There was me thinking I was going to be queuing for hours. Thrown out of embassy after embassy, refused access to countries because I had made a slight mistake in form filling in (or - let's be honest, it's more likely - one of the boys had).

The most difficult part of getting visas so far came when I was cycling home, and had to cycle up by Battersea police station, you know, past the Latchmere Leisure centre, up THAT hill. After two days in which I had cycled in the region of 20 miles a day, in Central London, getting to the top of that beast was no mean feat.

Unlike visa applications, which, having never done before, I thought would be an exercise in disappointment. Far from it - for both Chinese and Russian visas, I arrived before 8am to queue, both times I was done by about 9.30. Mongolian visas were even easier! (Although payment for those involved a mad dash from Kensington Court to Sloane Square to extort money from Kevin - Dad - as I had just withdrawn a load of cash to pay China), but Mr Mongolia just did them while I sat there. Thus showing how easy it really is to issue a visa, and why the Russians have to take a week, I ain't yet figured out.

I also got a tour of the Darwin Centre (Phase 2) at the Natural History Museum, which I have been typing letters, payment applications, method statements and emails about since I started this job. I've never been on a building site before.... whilst it was very interesting (I'm looking forward to going back when it's completed), I felt very out of place. All that was needed was for people to start pointing and shouting "WOMAN!!" to really highlight that fact that I was probably the only one outside the Site Office.........

Though now the fact that I'm leaving is really starting to sink in, and I started crying a little bit when I met one of my friends for the last time before leaving yesterday, and in Decathlon today when they didn't have suitable walking trainers OR microfibre towels.............. This is the first time the French superstore has failed me, and I feel bereft.........


Advertisement



20th March 2008

So what job are you doing now (for not much longer) that involves the Darwin Centre? I can never keep up with u! x
21st March 2008

Jobzzzez
I'm still doing the same job for the electrical contractors that i've been doing since i got back from Oz!! Secretarial/Receptionist job - is v boring.
24th March 2008

Two weeks to go babes! Nooooo! .......

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0461s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb