Being Enlightened and Romanticised!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Bloomsbury
March 28th 2010
Published: March 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The impressive Interior!The impressive Interior!The impressive Interior!

British Museum, Bloomsbury, London (The sun was shining!)
I was in London recently where I attended a Study Day at the British Museum. The Study Day complemented my current university studies so I thought it would be a good idea to go. I went down to Kings Cross the previous evening and stayed overnight at the hostel nor far from the station. I was relieved it was a short walk because of the rain!!! I simply checked in at the hostel and settled down for the night.

The next morning after breakfast, I checked out and walked to the British Museum. I have been to the museum many times previously but not recently. First thing I noticed was the interior change! There must have been some extenstive refurbishments since my last visit. I was impresseed with the space and lighting! I think John Soane, a Georgian architect, would be very impressed! He was reputed for his innovative designs featuring those elements. Happily, I was allowed to take photos as you can see below.

The Study Day was very enjoyable . We all met in one of the lecture theatres and listened to the speakers on various subjects including The Grand Tour, Women and Public Science and John
British MuseumBritish MuseumBritish Museum

Bloomsbury, London
Soane himself! The lectures complimented with what I am currently studying. At lunchtime, I had a wander out to take in some fresh air, despite of the rain, and had something to eat nearby.

In the afternoon, in addition to the lectures, we chose a gallery talk and I joined a gallery tour on Napoleon and Egyptology. It was hard concentrating because of the noises and crowds in the galleries! It seems the Egyptian Department is always busy!! We also had a browse in the Enlightenment gallery....I feel I need to return there on another visit because I felt the time I had visiting gallery was not enough. There are a lot of collections there that relate to what I am studying.

The British Museum is impressive. There is so much to see, do and learn! It is best picking out what you would like to specifically see than cramming everything in. It is free to enter but donations are encouraged. It is unique that the museum was opened in 1759 and linked to the Enlightenment and Romanticism Period during the late 18th Century and early 19th Century. However, I do question how the collections were obtained all
London's Calling!London's Calling!London's Calling!

Bloomsbury, London
those centuries ago but I can see two sides of the argument. I think, on this occasion, I benefited with the collections being there.

After the study day it was time to get my train home to Leeds. The journey was very lively with football fans and plently of beer flowing. The fans were passionate about football politics. I agree and learnt that football is so much more than a beautiful game!!! I am not a football fan but understand enough for this to be the case.

I look forward to returning to the capital at the end of July.....


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

British MuseumBritish Museum
British Museum

Bloomsbury, London
More impressive Interior!More impressive Interior!
More impressive Interior!

British Museum, Bloomsbury, London (It was raining!)
InteriorInterior
Interior

British Museum, Bloomsbury, London
Egyptian DepartmentEgyptian Department
Egyptian Department

British Museum, Bloomsbury, London
Being Enlightened!Being Enlightened!
Being Enlightened!

British Museum, Bloomsbury, London
Ditto!Ditto!
Ditto!

In the Enlightenment Gallery, British Museum, Bloomsbury, London
The Montague & the GardensThe Montague & the Gardens
The Montague & the Gardens

Where I stayed on my 30th!!! Bloomsbury, London


31st March 2010

Nice pics! The British Museum certainly has an extensive collection... glad you enjoyed the study day. It sounds interesting.

Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 18; qc: 100; dbt: 0.11s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb