London is Wonderful....


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Bloomsbury
July 1st 2007
Published: July 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Ah. It's so nice to finally be here. After a 24 hour trip, a quick stop in Chicago to meet up with Chad, Erin and Jack, and a lot of airport waits... I arrived. The weather was rainy, but me and Brad the guy who was my travel companion on my flights braved the weather and went out for drinks and dinner. I was going to stay in, chill, and get familiar with my dorm, but the second I got in the room I was overwhelmed with a strong urge to explore. Explore we did. We had Thia and drinks. I tipped the bar tender... I guess that's not what you do here in the U.K. oops. : ) But the drinks were only 2lbs, about 4 dollars, and it didn't seem outrageous. Then we walked around in the rain for a good long while, and hit up another bar. I learned a very valuable lesson about U.K. bathrooms... bring your own T.P. (so yes mom, your idea about bringing my own was brilliant.) Today I had orientation. Heard the same ol' thing I heard at the last 10... don't get rapped, don't look, or act "American" don't get arrested. After orientation I went out with a small group of people. We walked to Regents park. My icecream cone "softy" tasted exactly like and was the consistency of cool whip. Very good. We walked around the park, and the went next to Camden street. Think cool shopping district, super busy, and high on some crazy drugs. The people are crazy, the things to sell are crazy... I saw a couple having wedding pictures taken outside a shop selling psychedelic mini-dresses. Which at first though seemed crazy. But I'm sure it made a very beautiful (and colorful) picture. We walked around there... didn't buy anything. I want to pick up some records, but I didn't recognize the bands. Which seems especially odd because the music being played in the bars was just plain ol' american stuff. Then we went to Regent park again... One of the guys I was with, Kyle, is super into plants and wanted to visit Queen Mary's Rose Garden. It was beautiful. Roses for meters and meters : ) There were even roses growing up trellises hanging over the roses growing on the ground. We found a small restaurant, and ordered a carafe of rose wine (because it was fitting) I had a sandwich, fresh mozzarella and tomato, delicious. We sat next to a pond that was full of row boats and ducks. It was quite movie Esq, but just wonderful.
Fanta orange pop is not the same here. I think tonight I'll stay in, get some rest and chill. There is a pub in the dorm?! and clearly I have computer access, so keeping this up shouldn't be too hard.

I have a cell number now, and I'll post a number somewhere eventually, also if you want/need it you can call my rents, they have it.

Night and Love from London : )



Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb