Busy day on Whitehall


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Balham
May 17th 2011
Published: May 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today was an extremely busy day, but a very good day.

I spent the day in central London, specifically in and around Whitehall. The plan was to see as many of the sites around that street as humanly possible in one day. I managed four of them, but it wasn't from a lack of trying.

On my list of sites for the day I had them listed in order of close, so that I could save the later ones, well for later. Unfortunately, after repeated attempts I wasn't able to find the Guard Museum, which I wasn't happy about. My next stop was going to be the Household Cavalry Museum, but when I tried in the morning, it was blocked off...found out later why.

So, I turned my attention the one museum on this street that was an absolute must see: Churchill War Cabinet Rooms. As I walked down Whitehall, a small group of Household Cavalry soldiers came riding up in full dress on horseback. It was pretty spectacular to see, even though there really wasn't much to see except them riding.

As I walked down the side street to the War Cabinet Rooms, I noticed the street at the end was blocked off and that there were police everywhere. In the distance off to my right, I could see people in red scarlet tunics and big bear skin hats marching around and I could hear the band playing. The army guy was asked repeatedly what was up and he told everyone that the group was practicing and was expected to march down the road I was standing in front of. I hung out for about 1/2 and was rewarded with a parade. It was special to watch.

I finally made it into the War Cabinet Rooms, and it was well worth it. I am interested in the second world war and this museum delivered in spades. It was amazing (really need to finds a new world). There were whole sections on Churchill's life. Many of the rooms were recreated the way they appeared back during the war or in 1945, when the location was shutdown for the last time.

Next I made my way back up the street to look for the Guard Museum again, when that failed, I grabbed lunch and then headed to the Banqueting House. This place is amazing. All it is is one room with a ceiling painted by Rubens. But it's the history of the place that adds to the amazing part.

This building in essences has been around since Henry VIII's time. Once again, he took a Palace away from one of his favourites who had fallen out of favour. His daughter Elizabeth used this location to entertain foreign dignitaries. During James I's time, he did the same, but as luck would have it, he took down the original structure which was made of wood and had it rebuilt of stone, only to have the building burn down several years later.

Charles I, James's son, had Rubens paint mains beheaded by his Parliament for trying to rule without them--essentially--and the beheading took place right outside the Banqueting House. The last room he was in was the one with the panel ceilings he'd done about his dad.

The Banqueting House fell out of favour after that and was used seldom. Another irony regarding the building is that, the rest of Whitehall was destroyed in a fire and only the Banqueting House survived. It's been said that it survived because Wren (an influential architect who rebuilt much of London after the Great Fire of 1666 blew up the building beside the Banqueting House to keep if from burning down.

After spending some time in the Banqueting house, I crossed the road and went into the Household Cavalry Museum. Had the place to myself, which was neat. Got to touch and take pictures without worry about being bumped or someone walking into the picture. I got to listen to the videos without noise or interruption. Was actually really good.

To cap my day off, I met up with my cousin and his wife for a night out. I had a blast with them.

It was a really good day. Tiring, but really really good.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.03s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb