Saturday, May 14th Part Two: Oxford


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Balham
May 14th 2011
Published: May 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The second part of my day was a trip to Oxford. This is one of the world's leading universities. Over the years it has turned out British Prime Ministers and other world leaders. It has also been where famous writers, artists, doctors, lawyers and other professionals have been trained. it has been the location of hire education for hundreds of years.

The some of the buildings in the city are extremely old and others are roughly a century old or a little more. I took a hop-on hop-off bus tour around the city and did actually go into any of the colleges. The college grounds are restricted at certain times of the year and the day I chose to visit, they were having a graduation ceremony. The grounds were packed with family and friends and graduates.

Unfortunately, I arrived to late in Oxford to be able to take a side trip to a stately house which is a half hour drive one way outside the city. So instead I made the choice to explore Oxford and find the most famous bookshop in the United Kingdom. Shocker, eh? I went book shopping. I did find some really good deals. I
OxfordOxfordOxford

One of the many colleges
ended up leaving with 14 books and paid just under 110 pounds, which is less than 10 pounds a book. Yes, rather impressed with myself lol.

The city is a beautiful one. It is also the inspiration for the great hall and the grand staircase in Harry Potter. They actually filled the great staircase scenes at the University. The particular college escapes me now.

After spending a few hours in Oxford, I got on a vary busy train heading back to London. One who had all kinds of family members returning from the graduation. It was hectic and packed to say the least.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0783s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb