Land's End


Advertisement
Published: April 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I flew into Birmingham, UK, home to Black Sabbath and Judas Priest but, I was seeking a different kind of British heavy metal. Rain streaked the jet’s window as we came in for a landing. Never a good omen. I hopped on to an east bound train to Nottingham to reunite with my Triumph Thruxton. Together, we set off towards Land’s End at the furthest tip of Cornwall.

It was 3 P.M. when I was finally loaded up and ready to go. I was hoping to get some miles in before dark. I fired up the Triumph and headed southwest. I chose a road built by the Romans now named Fosse Way. As were most Roman roads, this one was built straight and to the southwest. Just the direction I wanted to go. While it looks arrow straight on the map, in reality it does have some nice bends in it. This only proves that Romans enjoyed a good cornering session in their chariots just as much as I do.

By 6 P.M. I was well into the Cotswolds. This is the tourist heart of England as it is chock full of achingly quaint villages. I have my suspicions that the English had them purposely built to attract Japanese and American tourists. I found a nice hotel in the town of Stow-on-the-Wold. Enjoyed a nice dinner with the accompanying ale.




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

BridgeBridge
Bridge

Quaint bridge in the village of Bourton-on-the-Water.
Stow-on-the-WoldStow-on-the-Wold
Stow-on-the-Wold

Parked up in front of my hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold.


Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb