Rugby Match


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Gloucestershire » Gloucester
March 5th 2011
Published: March 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today my host Martin took me and Mareika to a Rugby match in Gloucester. It was so much fun.
The drive was an hour and a half through the beautiful Cotswold country side. Mind blowing. We left at 9:30 and got to the pitch really super early. The match was Bath vs. Gloucester and they are rivals. That means it is called a needle match. The whole place was sold out- 16,500 people there! We were in a place called the shed where you stand. We had a pretty great view. It was so neat and they played really fast! A couple of nights before we watched a taped game on tv and Martin and Mareika explained the rules to me. It was great fun.
At half time I went to the washroom. What a struggle, let me tell ya. Just pushing my way to get there was difficult. Then there was a monstrous queue. I didn't have to wait tooo long though. Gloucester (the home team, who we were rooting for) won 34-22! It was such an exciting game. Afterward, we went to a pub called the Air Balloon and had a bit to eat as the match was awkwardly timed.. It was kind of a late lunch/early supper type thing. Martin's son Ben also came to the game and the pub. I had a club sandwich. It was big and yummy.
After that, Martin drove us through a couple of towns and showed us a few sites on the way back. It was so beautiful. I tried to take pictures in the car but I was kind of a fail. I think Mareika succeeded though so maybe some will be on facebook. It was just such a great day.
Tomorrow we have church and then might be taking a walk around the grounds of Blenheim Palace. That should be lovely.
The next day we are going on a field trop to Steventon and Chattam. They are Jane Austen related. The trip should be cool. Next weekend we're off on break! Budapest here I come!
Talk to you all soon
Cheers
Love Beth


Additional photos below
Photos: 95, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Go Gloucester!Go Gloucester!
Go Gloucester!

The team enters and the fans, or as they say here, supporters, go wild!


Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0646s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb