Cotswolds


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Gloucestershire » Cleeve Hill
September 7th 2005
Published: October 29th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Here is the begginning of my trip. I've been having a great time in Cork and am sad to leave but I'm excited about what I'm about to do. I met up with my Grandpa Arch, my mom, my brother Greg, and my uncle Geoff (UG). We're staying in Fort William for a couple of days and making day trips. Today we're seeing the Cotswolds and Straford-upon-Avon. We went to the little towns, they were beautiful. Almost cute looking. All the buildings are the same taupe brick color. We went to the church there and saw some reeeally old graves and an old clock that still works. There was a group of graves that told a story of a duke and his children. His older son died at about 15 and his daughter was so overcome with grief that she died two months later and the duke only had one other child. The duke was so sad that he built beautiful graves for his children and had an epitaph written over each of their graves. It seemed so bittersweet and something out of a Shakespearian play. : ) Anyways, we saw the rest of the church and walked around the town. Lots of antique shops and cute Beatrix Potter stuff. It was a nice first day. My poor family was very jet lagged. We drove around and looked at the countryside. Its so different from Ireland! Everything is Ireland is green and rolling hills (occasional low mountains) whereas here the fields were turning yellow and it was just different landscape. Tonight we see Oxford on our way back to Fort William but I'll make that a different entry.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.341s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0762s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb