Good (but extremely tired) Friday


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Essex
April 14th 2006
Published: September 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I can't remember being so wired from sleep, but despite this and being laid out on seats I couldn't get to sleep. Beck pinched a little bit of sleep but we were both wrecked when we got on the plane. Beck asked for a pillow for me straight away and I fell fast asleep. It seemed like I had been asleep for ages, but I woke up (slightly) when the plane took off before falling straight back to sleep. I had tiny patches where I woke up, but for the most part I slept until we were coming in to land at Frankfurt.
We had plenty of time to kill before our connecting flight, so we went hunting for a decent breakfast but had no luck. We settled on pancakes and yoghurt. After breakfast we went and numbly sat in a vacant departure gate, signed up for frequent flyers, and waited for the gate number of our flight to come up. Unbelievably when the gate number finally came up our flight had been delayed! Talk about cruel and unusual.
Sick of trying to kill time we went and sat at our departure gate and went through The Lonely Planet discussing future travel plans for the year. Finally we got on the plane, and I dozed off again before I woke up on the descent. We got through customs really quickly and actually had to wait fifteen minutes for our backpack. The train journey home went smoothly, but we just missed a train to Grays at West Ham. We changed platforms, caught a train to Upminster, and then another to Grays. What a relief it was to be home. It was 5 p.m and we had left Santorini at 4 p.m the previous day.
Kez and Rod were home which was a nice surprise, and we debated what to have for dinner before settling on Indian which satisfied my craving. Kez had fish for Good Friday and her detox. Despite being ridiculously tired we sat up and watched 'Saw' with Kez and Rod. It was well worth it. What a confronting, but awesome movie that I think was produced by two Australian uni students. I had put off watching it, because as a rule I don't do scary movies. Soft I know. I don't get any satisfaction (normally) out of watching them, no inspiration. I wouldn't class 'Saw' as a scary movie, maybe 'thriller' would be better suited. The finish blows you away. Even though it's an awesome movie, don't watch it Mum!
Some how we felt ok going to bed.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb