Soccer/Football/Indian/Sleep


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Essex
March 24th 2006
Published: April 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Had a bit of trouble with the kiddies today, so I rang some parents after school, and they all proved to be very supportive. By the time I had done this and faxed off my paper work I had to rush and get changed for soccer/football.
The line-up had changed, so I actually started at left-back, but I was back to left midfield after 10 minutes. We went in at half-time 1-0 up.
After half-time we were awarded a penalty, and Matty graciously offered to let me take it. I declined for fear that I would miss, and if we lost or drew it would have been my fault. Matty calmly slotted the penalty, and that was the final score 2-0.
I had a couple of really good chances to score, but I blew it. One I kicked too hard, and the other I didn't watch on to my boot properly. Once again I really enjoyed it though, and I even had my first decent header!
It hasn't rained much in Essex, and they are talking of introducing water restrictions. Hard to believe isn't it. This made the ground really hard, and left the bottom of my feet covered in big blood blisters. I should have worn runners instead of mouldeds.

After the match we went to the same bar as last time, and I drank Fosters again. Everyone was going out for Indian, and since I'm addicted to it (and my ride was going), I couldn't say no. Colin and I partnered up as our wives were at home, and we ordered garlic naan, cobra beer, and chicken tikka masala balti. Ravi ordered chicken vindaloo, which is meant to be the hottest. Since I had eaten all of those chillis last time I had Indian, I didn't have any qualms eating the bean looking chilli in my meal. It's fair to say it was a damn sight hotter than I had planned, even my eyes started sweating if you know what I mean. When I gained my composure, I had some of Ravi's vindaloo, which was quite mild compared to the green chilli.
Towards the end of the meal we persuaded Ravi to have a green chilli, and we laughed hysterically as we watched his face change colours about five times.
At this stage I thought we were heading home, but Ravi offered to give the girls a lift to a club called Jumpin' Jacks. Once we got there the girls talked us into putting our school clothes on and coming in. Inside it was a bit of a laugh, the music was a bit cheesy though.
Obviously I didn't get in until quite late, and I hadn't been in bed that long when Beck had to get up for work.

25/3/2006
Needless to say I didn't get up to much today. Once Kez and Rod had gone to work I slept on and off through the day.
That night Rod rang us from work to tell us to set the alarm for six in the morning, which is really five due to daylight savings starting, and to have our passports ready. It is Rod and Kerrie's fourth wedding anniversary tomorrow, and we are helping them celebrate it. We are guessing France, maybe Paris, but it could be anywhere in Europe.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.329s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 25; qc: 116; dbt: 0.1119s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.3mb