Soccer/Football debut.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Essex
March 17th 2006
Published: April 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

School was a bit of a battle again today with my tough classes, but I had soccer, and the weekend to look forward to. Originally I thought I would just be goalkeeper, but it sounds like I'll be up the ground since I can run a bit.
I had to fax off my timesheet and JSA claim form, and then it was time to get ready. I ended up playing left midfield, and I really enjoyed it. I actually played alright, I had the first big shot on goal of the game, which I hit really hard, but the goalie saved it. We ended up winning 3-1 with all the goals being scored in the second half. Their goalie really carried on, and was everyone's least favourite person on the field. I made a few mistakes, and I'm useless at heading the ball, but otherwise I held my own. The match report appeared in the staff weekly newsletter, and the organiser took the mickey out of me in a good way (Colin Yeomans).
The following is the main extract concerning me in the staff newsletter:
"An excellent performance by the new young and improved staff team. Without the influential Cotter, Davies and Solis St. Clere's produced an excellent result. We gave debuts to Cochrane and Hyndman who performed admirably. The only issue being Hyndman kept picking up the ball and bouncing the ball every few steps and then he kept cheering everytime he kicked it just wide - something about a behind ... Scorers were Chagger and Vallis 2. Man of the Match D. Hyndman and his banana boots." C. Yeomans.

Beck had managed to get to school to watch the game in freezing conditions, with a really strong wind blowing. Luckily Colin lent her his jacket, and Beck was rewarded when we headed to the nearest pub after the game to celebrate our victory.
It was a really good way for me to get to know the other staff, instead of the standard 'sir' or 'miss'. I found myself drinking Fosters again, but then they got me on to an Indian Pale Ale or IPA. It is meant to be a bitter, but it tastes like it has angostura bitters in it. It wasn't that bad actually. Colin wants me to head up north and taste a beer called a Mild, so I've put that on the to do list.
Ravi dropped us back in Grays along with Matty who had to go to work with his second job. These two guys, and James who lent me his footy boots are the ones I have the most to do with at school, and they are good fellas.
We were going to head back out again as it is St. Pat's day, but we crashed.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0333s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb